Search Event Tickets


Buy Music & Merch!

Nuclear Blast Online Shop


Event Calendar

June 2021
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 1 2 3 4

Latest Events

No events

Latest News




delain interlude
Artist: Delain
Album: Interlude
Genre: Dark / Gothic Metal / Symphonic Metal
Release Date: 3rd May 2013
Label: Napalm Records

Album Review

Dutch female fronted Metal band DELAIN has some special offer, so to say a thank you, for their fans: a collection of unreleased material, covers and live footage. This compilation is probably also some first day present of their new label, Napalm Records, where the band is signed now after several years with Roadrunner Records. The beginning of ‘Interlude’ yet is marked by two new tracks, probably giving a hint already to the new album. ‘Breathe on me’ and ‘Collars and Suits’ deliver bombastic symphonic Metal. Third track ‘Are You Done With Me’ was recorded in a new version for this compilation, now surely being radio compatible and not really a Metal song anymore.

In its very own style, Dutch metallers present some cover versions, ‘Such a Shame’ from TALK TALK, ‘Cordell’ by CRANBERRIES and ‘Smalltown Boy’ by BRONSKI BEAT. If the personal DELAIN touch really was transported to those songs lies in the eye of the beholder. ‘We are the others’ is also presented in a new style, a balladry version, putting an overall melancholic touch onto the song. After those new songs, cover versions and newly arranged tracks, the rest of ‘Interlude’ is offering several live versions, recorded during Metal Female Voices Fest. Overall, for older fans, this album offers a little foretaste of following releases with two new songs. New fans get an overall insight of the band’s work and even the audience not being into Metal at all gets its share. The first edition of the album comes as limited edition incl. a bonus DVD.

Tracklist (Limited First Edition inkl. Bonus-DVD)

01. Breathe on Me
02. Collars and Suits
03. Are You Done With Me (new single mix)
04. Such a Shame
05. Cordell
06. Smalltown Boy
07. We Are The Others (new ballad version)
08. Mother Machine (live)
09. Get The Devil out of Me (live)
10. Milk and Honey (live)
11. Invidia (live)
12. Electricity (live)
13. Not Enough (live)

01. Invidia (Video Live @ MFVFestival)
02. Electricity (Video Live @ MFVFestival)
03. We are The Others (Video Live @ MFVFestival)
04. Milk and Honey (Video Live @ MFVFestival)
05. Not Enough (Video Live @ MFVFestival)
06. Backstage footage
07. Get The Devil out of Me (Videoclip)
08. We are The Others (Videoclip)
09. April Rain (Videoclip)
10. Frozen (Videoclip)


Charlotte Wessels - Vocals
Martijn Westerholt - Keys
Otto Schimmelpenninck van der Oije - Bass
Sander Zoer - Drums
Timo Somers - Guitar

Website /

Cover Picture

delain interlude


Music: 7
Sound: 7
Total: 7 / 10

You are here: Home Artists A-E CD Review: Delain - Interlude