Search Event Tickets


Buy Music & Merch!

Nuclear Blast Online Shop


Event Calendar

January 2021
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Latest Events

No events

Latest News



andone magnet
Artist: And One
Title: Magnet (Trilogie 1)
Genre: EBM / Electro / Synth Pop
Release Date: 8th August 2014
Label: Deutschmaschine Schallplatten ( Soulfood)

Album Review

Whenever I think of AND ONE it reminds me of nights when I was dancing a lot and that mix of EBM, Pop and Synth elements which all together make that typical AND ONE sound. The past months, the band came up with several news ranging from “Goodbye, we’ll never play again” up to “ Applause for us - there will be a new album”. Fans were sent through several emotions with all these updates and news and must be really happy to get new material from Steve Naghavi and his companions.

As the title ‘Magnet (Trilogie 1)’ lets expect the latest AND ONE album is a special fan edition containing three CDs titled ‘Magnet’, ‘Propeller’ and ‘Achtung 80’. Steve Naghavi once said he made different albums to get all his different text and music ideas in line. According to him ‘Magnet’ itself should contain new sounds and surprise the fans, while ‘Propeller’ is more an EBM-Pop style CD and ‘Achtung 80’ is based on 80’s influences and DEPECHE MODE’s older stuff.

I really would have liked to review all those three CDs apart from each other. I really expected huge differences in sound, as there were announced such. But as there is no big style difference, I try to see this trilogy as one album with so many tracks. I really expected songs to make me dance, songs like the old AND ONE stuff with that typical sound. You know what I mean: You hear the synths and you know “Oh that’s AND ONE”. ‘Achtung 80’ was called a “party album” by Steve Naghavi himself, unfortunately there was no party feeling coming up when I was listening to it. It left me with that feeling of 80s and boredom. And I was never bored by 80s music or anything that sounded like the 80s but I nearly fell asleep after only five songs.

To wake me up, I tried the promised EBM/ EBM-Pop kind of CD of this trilogy. As you should start with the good things first, I’ll do so. Ok, this sounds like AND ONE. There are the massively missed AND ONE sounds. But did it make me want to dance like the albums before? No. There was no urge in me saying “Move your ass and dance”. Maybe Steve is getting old and a bit more staid now after making music for so many years, I don’t know. But even this part of the trilogy is no highlight. While listening I was like “ Oh, ok.” instead of having that usually upcoming feeling of “Hell yeah, EBM-Pop”. I wouldn’t put that one into my car to wake me up in the morning on my way to work as it wouldn’t work that way.

Last but not least, I want to say a few words about ‘Magnet’. To keep it short, I haven’t found a highlight on it. No song that is worth to be mentioned. It sounds as an AND ONE CD, but it is leaving a feeling of boredom too. If you’d let all those three CDs run one after another, you wouldn’t be able to say which of the album is running right now. It sounds like one overlong track with no up and downs. No track to hate cause of the lyrics, nothing to moan about the synths. Endless boredom. I can’t even mention a final word about it which would describe it. It’s neither provoking, nor an album to party to. I can’t make up an opinion about it as it didn’t touch me on any level. ‘Magnet (Trilogie 1)’ is boredom instead of volume.


01. Love needs a saving Hand
02. Zeit ohne Zeit
03. Love is always on your Side
04. Unter meiner Uniform
05. The other Side
06. Love me
07. Keiner fühlt s wie wir
08. Everybody lies at night
09. Fake of Pleasure
10. Dead Love

01. Black Generation
02. Männermusik
03. Synchronizing Bodies
04. An alle Krieger!
05. Nyctophiliac
06. Zwei Tote
07. Before I go
08. U-boot-Krieg in Ost-Berlin
09. Up & Down
10. New Wave Mother
Achtung 80
01. Let’s get higher
02. My Angel
03. She’s Triple 6
04. Somebody’s Song
05. Bad Girl
06. The Fighter
07. Girls on Girls
08. Why don’t you let me go?
09. Love Trashing Girls
10. Your Pet is a ticking Bomb!


Steve Naghavi – Lead voclas, Music
Rick Schah – Keyboards
Joke Jay – Keyboards, Drums
Nico Wieditz – Keyboard


Cover Picture

andone magnet


Music: 4
Sound: 8
Exstras: Box Set, Coloured Vinyl 
Total: 6 / 10



0 #5 AndOne4Ever 2015-01-21 18:17
I disagree with the review. In my opinion there is a different and well define style in each CD.

Maybe the problem is the great amount of new songs. In this cases, it is usual to include some songs that maybe shouldn´t be included.

If someone wants my opinion, I would highlight the CD Propeller, it has a handful of good songs, specially Up & Down (I would buy the Trilogy only for this one hahaha).

About Achtung 80, i think it is good, I love 80s songs and this CD contains a lot of references of bands from that time, specially DM.

Maybe Magnet is the poorest of the 3 CDs. It is supposed to be the current line of the band, and it is not very surprising.

Finally, I would like to give a piece of advice when you want to make a review. Try to support your opinions with facts, make references to concrete songs, try to summarize the pros and cons, not only the bad things.

For me, a new And One album are always very great news!!
+1 #4 Herbert West 2014-08-27 19:05
Really poor review from someone who obviously has it in for And One. I wonder if the author works for SideLine (I kid).

The fact of the matter is that there is a lot of high quality songwriting and styles between all three albums. I am no And One purist, but since all three albums contain all the styles And One has ever done, then a fan (new or old) would definitely find something to enjoy on at least one of the albums.

The author here really just wants to repeat how the albums are boring without backing up their claim with substantial reasoning.

You obviously are not a fan, so why are you reviewing this?

I encourage all fans of And One to check out this trilogy as it is some of the finest songs ever released by the band. This review is overtly biased and well...useless.

+2 #3 Aro 2014-08-21 20:11
I well and truly think that this review spreads a lot of misinformation, primarily because of the following statement: "If you’d let all those three CDs run one after another, you wouldn’t be able to say which of the album is running right now."

That is simply false. While I admit that the Magnet and Achtung 80 CD's have some similarities, Propeller is quite obviously very different (and superior) to the other two CD's, it really feels like going back to the good old Agressor days.

Right off the bat on Propeller, Black Generation brings back the good old-school EBM feel And One once had, followed up by more songs that really give off the retro And One feel. Achtung 80 definitely feels very similar to Tanzomat in it's bouncy-happy style, but who's complaining? I like the fun releases that And One do instead of an "always deadly serious" vibe that so many other bands give off. As 'Doktor' said, a review isn't just describing your own personal feelings.
+2 #2 Loucura 2014-08-11 22:58
Diese Trilogie ist nicht langweilig. Es ist mutig und And One!
Die Texte sind sehr gut geschrieben und ein Song wie "Unter meiner Uniform" ist einfach ein ergreifender Song mit mitreißendem Sound, der sogar tanzbar ist. "Propeller" ist zwar kein EBM, aber dafür Senfgurke ;-)
Nach dem dritten Mal hören war ich süchtig. Vielleiccht sollte man dem Ganzen Zeit geben, aber man sollte nicht vorschnell urteilen, nur weil hier mal was anderes ausorobiert wird. wer das nicht bemerkt, hat anscheinend kein And One-Album bisher durchgehört.
+2 #1 Doktor 2014-08-10 23:13
A review isn't just describing your feelings.

I encourage anyone to check out the records.
You are here: Home Artists A-E CD Review: And One - Magnet (Trilogie 1)