RoD header


introPalladium, Cologne, Germany
2nd November 2015
Editors & The Twilight Sad

By chance I had the opportunity to see the EDITORS finally live. A lot of my friends were also very excited to see them perform. And apparently a lot of people were eager of seeing the band live, too, coming from all over Germany, the Netherlands, the UK, and thus it was no wonder that the show was sold-out. As the big crowd was just too much for me on that evening I preferred to stay close to one of the doors. Thus I couldn’t see so good what was going on on stage but probably I wouldn’t have been able to see more amongst the crowd anyway as I’m not that tall.

The Twilight Sad

The Scottish band was founded in 2003 by James Graham (vocals), Andy MacFarlane (guitar), Mark Devine (drums) and Craig Orzel (bass). Craig Orzel left the band in 2010. The band’s name was inspired by ‘The war poem‘ by the British poet Wilfred Owen. In 2007 the critically acclaimed debut album ‘Fourteen autumns & Fifteen winters‘ was launched. The genre of the band is hard to describe. It is a mixture of Post Punk/ Indie Rock/ Noise Rock/ Industrial/ Shoegazing. It is quite remarkable that THE TWILIGHT SAD’s live performance are very different to the album versions and it’s the intention of the band so that every live show is a special event. Four studio albums, six EPs and eight singles are released up to now. /


Music & Performance
To have this band as supporting act on board was definitely a good choice. Unfortunately most of the audience was a bit reserved which was really a pity. But surely this had to do with the people waiting impatiently for the EDITORS and thus could not really enjoy the show of this band. Anyway they got some proper applause and the singer announced to be very happy to have the chance to tour with the EDITORS.

01. There’s a girl in the corner
02. Last January
03. I became a prostitute
04. It was never the same
05. Nil
06. Cold days from the birdhouse
07. And she would darken the memory

Music: 7
Performance: 7
Sound: 9
Light: 7
Total: 7.5 / 10



Also founded in the year 2003, the debut single ‘Bullets‘ of the British band entered immediately the British single charts in 2005 and was the most played song on the Independent radio stations. The second single as well solidified this success. There were some changes in band members but currently the band consists of Tom Smith (vocals, guitar), Russell Leetch (bass), Ed Lay (drums), Justin Lockey (guitar) and Elliott Williams (synthesizer, guitar). Including the just released album ‘In dreams‘, five studio albums, one EP and 15 singles were launched. The music is a mixture of Indie Rock/ New Wave and Post Punk. The band supports the charity organization Oxfam and allows it to have an information stand, in order to promote its work, at the concerts. /


Music & Performance
When the band finally appeared on stage, it was greeted loudly and in no time the guys got the crowds going. Not only did the singer Tom Smith show up with fantastic live vocal qualities but also with his guitar, piano and keyboard playing every now and then. The audience proved to know the lyrics by heart and whenever the charismatic singer invited them, they sang along with the band or clapped their hands. The EDITORS presented a great mixture of its new songs as well songs from the former albums, which were well received and every song was rewarded with a thunderous applause and cheering. Also the show was topped off with a fantastic light show that underlined the atmosphere of the songs perfectly. Singer Tom had a surprise in his bag when he performed ‘Smokers outside the hospital doors‘ as an acoustic version with only playing the acoustic guitar to his singing.


Well, this was surely an interesting experience though not everyone’s cup of tea. But with the next songs everyone was happy again and you could see smiling and happy faces all over the place. And of course, one of fans’ all-time favourites, ‘Papillon’, was played in the encore bloc.

01. No harm
02. Sugar
03. Life is a fear
04. Blood
05. An end has a start
06. Forgiveness
07. All sparks
08. Eat raw meat = blood drool
09. The racing rats
10. Formaldehyde
11. Salvation
12. Bullets
13. A ton of love
14. Smokers outside the hospital doors (Tom Smith acoustic solo)
15. Bricks and mortar
16. All the kings
17. Nothing
18. Munich
19. Ocean of night
20. Papillon (extended outro)
21. Marching orders

Music: 10
Performance: 10
Sound: 9
Light: 9
Total: 9.5 / 10


All pictures by Daniela Vorndran ( /

Comments powered by CComment