RoD header


iangillian tonyiommi whocares
Artist: Ian Gillan & Tony Iommi
Title: Who Cares
Genre: Rock / Hard Rock
Release Date: 13th July 2012
Label: earMUSIC / Edel

Album Review

One of the things that Ian Gillan and Tony Iommi have in common is their love for Armenia, an affection that increased after the devastating earthquake of 1988. In 2009 they visited Armenia one more time and in the spur of the moment they decided to release a single and that its profits will be donated for the building of a new music school at Gyumri, Armenia. For this purpose they gathered some old friends (including John Lord, who has unfortunately recently died) they named the band WhoCares and the single was released last year. The project was successful and the two friends decided to release a double CD with not only old hits (and some rarities) but new songs as well. 

And if there’s something these guys know a thing or two is about Rock, and Hard Rock, (and obviously Heavy Metal as well!) These two CDs ooze quality from any side you look at the subject. For about 95 minutes what you get is a Hard Rock party, with its mood uplifting and contemplating moments on the road with changing landscapes, and grand, exhilarating, breaths of good music that only a Philharmonic Orchestra can offer. In these, highly enjoyable CDs, maybe the only moment that tends to be obscure is Gillan’s collaboration with Michalis Rakintzis in ‘Get Away’. Rakintzis had put some oriental elements in the song but his voice is - how to put it - interesting ... and that’s something that cannot be hidden especially in the beginning of the song where the low notes are dominant. Set this song aside, the rest of the CDs is a true Hard Rock party time meant to be enjoyed with lots of beers. Why not, after all - it’s summertime!



01. Out Of My Mind (new release)
02. Zero The Hero (Black Sabbath)
03. Trashed (feat. Iommi, Ian Paice and Roger Glover)
04. Get Away (feat. M.Rakintzis)
05. Slip Away (Iommi feat. Glenn Hughes)
06. Don’t Hold Me Back (Ian Gillan)
07. She Thinks It’s A Crime (vinyl B-Side)
08. Easy Come, Easy Go (Repo Depo feat. Ian Gillan)
09. Smoke On The Water (live with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra)

01. Holy Water (new release)
02. Anno Mundi (Black Sabbath)
03. Let It Down Easy (Iommi feat. Glenn Hughes)
04. Hole In My Vest (7” vinyl B-Side)
05. Can’t Believe You Wanna Leave Me (Gillan & Glover feat. Dr. John)
06. Can I Get A Witness (Gillan & The Javelins)
07. No Laughing In heaven (Garth Rockett & The Moonshiners)
08. When A Blind Man Cries (Live at Absolute Radio)
09. Dick Pimple (Deep Purple)


Ian Gillan – Vocals
Tommy Iommi – Guitar
Mikko “Linde” Lindstrom – Guitar
John Lord – Keyboards
Nicko McBrain – Drums
Jason Newsted – Bass

Websites / /

Cover Picture

iangillian tonyiommi whocares


Music: 8
Sound: 8
Total: 8 / 10

Comments powered by CComment