Search Event Tickets


Buy Music & Merch!

Nuclear Blast Online Shop


Event Calendar

January 2022
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6

Latest Events

No events



Title: Advanced Electronics Vol.6
Artist: Various Artists
Genre: Electronic
Release Date: 22nd February 2008
Label: Synthetic Symphony

Album Review

The Advanced Electronics series is famous for collecting a mixture of songs from completely different genres of the electronic music scene and put them together on one sampler. First released in May 2002, it became an established compilation series very soon. Newcomers as well as already established bands are represented on it and now the 6th issue of this series is about to be released. But enough introductions, I think we should now switch over to the real interesting stuff: the music

The first CD already starts with a bang with a new track of the heroes of the Electronic Body Music NITZER EBB with a remix of the song ‘Payroll’. If there were also guitars you could think of it a Rock Song. The next song really uses some guitars and marks the return of the Cyber Rockers of ZEROMANCER an after a short vacation to French music with VIVE LA FETE, it’s time for Chris Corner aka IAMX with ‘Nightlife’. I have to admit that I do not own any IAMX release so far but I really have to think about getting one after listening to that track again and again. Cool sound and a great voice. A real unique collaboration of MASSIV IN MENSCH and MIND.IN.A.BOX resulted in a track called ‘Supermassive Gravity’ which turns out to be a layered yet highly danceable track with much atmosphere and the well-known vocal style of Stefan Poiss. I really couldn’t believe it, when I saw SCOOTER on the track list but I gave it a shot anyway and I have to say this is one of the songs where you have to ignore the lyrics completely to bear it but I guess that’s also a matter of taste. The next tracks fortunately go into a totally different direction. Another newcomer is coming along with the Swedish project CRYO presenting a Club Edit of the track ‘My Wall’. I love this melodic, sub cooled sound. And it’s a neat club track as well. Another Highlight is the highly melodic and danceable remix; MESH did of the TECHNOIR track ‘Dying Star’

The second CD already starts with two very well-known bands. It’s DIARY OF DREAMS with a special version of ‘The Plague’ so far only included o n the same-titled single and Daniel Myer’s DESTROID with the funky track ‘Friend or Foe’ taken from the most recent album ‘Loudspeaker’. Collaboration between FEEDBACK MACHINERY and MORTIIS is the next one on the list and it’s a pretty cool electro track with powerful vocals. Unfortunately I can’t say anything like that about the remix of the TRISOMIE 21 track ‘Now’ from LEAETHER STRIP. Not that I wouldn’t like the vocals but apart from that it’s a pretty boring track in my opinion. The projects N.W.R and DIE TANTE RENATE present very diverse electronic music. The first one relies on break beats and German vocals, while the latter one comes up with nice electronic gadgets and some glitches. Now an old acquaintance crosses our way with MODCOM aka Ronan Harris with a track aiming for the dance floors of the republic passed through with speech samples and retro synth sounds before XP8 take you away with ‘Dreamt of Blue’. The next bunch of tracks will be a feast for lovers of the darker and harsher side of electronic music. It should be enough if I just mention the names PAINBASTARD, XOTOX and HOCICO. The sampler concludes with the HEIMATAERDE track ‘Vater’.

This collection really holds something for everyone. As usual you will not like every single track. I guess that is almost impossible anyway but you will surely find something you like on that compilation and - who knows - maybe also discover something new. I can only recommend to at least risking an ear, because it’s worth it. The Sampler will also contain a DVD featuring a collection of video clips. Unfortunately it wasn’t included in the promotional copy.

Track Listing

CD 1:
01. Nitzer Ebb: Payroll (John O Mix) – 3:10
02. Zeromancer: Doppelgänger I Love you (RMX) – 5:32
03. Vive La Fete: Mais – 3:05
04. IAMX: Nightlife (Single Mix) – 5:00
05. Massiv In Mensch feat. Supermassive Gravity – 4:34
06. Faderhead: Electrosluts Extraordinaire (Preview Mix) – 4:10
07. Scooter: Lass uns tanzen (Radio Edit) – 3:44
08. Spetsnaz: Nothing but Black – 4:05
09. Diskonnekted: Prayer (Northborn Mix-Edit) – 4:15
10. Patenbrigade Wolff: Demokratischer Sektor (Club Mix) – 3:59
11. What used to be (Short Storm) – 4:31
12. Cryo: My Wall (Edit) – 4:27
13. The Retrosic: Unleash Hell (Deeper into Hell 2008) – 5:15
14. Grendel: Hate this (X-Fusion RMX) – 3:59
15. Amnistia: Self-Defence (Steel-Alloyed Edit) – 4:59
16. Technoir: Dying Star (Mesh Remix) – 5:21
17. Ladytron: Weekend (James Iha Mix) – 3:58
18. Solar Fake: The Shield (Remix) – 4:16

CD 2:
01. Diary of Dreams: The Plague (Version N4-4) – 4:47
02. Destroid: Friend or Foe (The Betrayal) – 4:00
03. Feedback Machinery feat. Mortiis: Tainted – 3:56
04. Trisomie 21: Now (Leaether Strip Version) – 6:02
05. N.W.R: Punkstar – 4:15
06. Umbra et Imago: Glaubst du (Remix) – 7:03
07. Die Tante Renate: Psychobot – 3:51
08. Modcom: One Zero (FM Mix) – 6:29
09. XP8: Dreamt of Blue (Mindless Faith Remix) – 4:23
10. Painbastard: Alive – 6:07
11. Proceed: Laut – 3:30
12. Santa Hates You: Sugar and Spice – 5:59
13. Xotox: Ewig – 3:55
14. Noisuf-X: Hit me Hard (As Hard As You Can-Mix) – 4:23
15. Hocico: About a Dead (Killed by Proceed) – 3:14
16. Heimataerde: Vater (Person Non Grata Version) – 4:58


Cover Picture


Music: 8
Sound: 8
Extras: -
Total: 8

You are here: Home Artists U-Z Various Artists - Advanced Electronics Vol.6