Search Event Tickets


Buy Music & Merch!

Nuclear Blast Online Shop


Event Calendar

December 2021
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2

Latest Events

No events



Artist: Waves Under Water
Title: All Of Your Light
Genre: Darkwave / Synth-Pop
Release Date: 18th February 2011
Label: Danse Macabre

Album Review

WAVES UNDER WATER is a dark wave / electro band from Stockholm, Sweden. It consists of Angelica Segerbäck on vocals, Johan Svärdshammar on guitar and synth, chorus and composing, and live musicians Rickard Kretschmer on drum pads and Ursula Ewrelius on synth. It all started when Johan, who had written a couple of songs, asked Angelica if she wanted to sing. So on a cold and clear autumn day in the beginning of October 2007, the band was formed. The same evening the first songs ‘My Cup’ and ‘Winter Garden’ were created.

‘All Of Your Light’ is a very good and special synth-pop album. When you start listening to the songs you might think that you know how they will turn out to be, but the songs change and takes turns that are impossible to know beforehand. I enjoy being surprised (in a good way) and WAVES UNDER WATER have made a really good and interesting record. ‘Into this World’ caught my attention in the slow intro where you hear the beauty of Angelica Segerbäck´s voice, it’s a pleasure to listen to the cool rhythm and special music in this song. Some might find this song too monotone but I enjoy that it continues for 4.43 minutes because there is time to really get into the music.

‘Frail Misconceptions’ begins slowly and frail with whispered vocals, but as the song opens up the vocals becomes clear and how I enjoy myself as the song speeds up and takes off. This is a very cool and danceable song that I would love to hear while out dancing. ‘My Judgement Day’ is a very impressive and moving song where strong vocals and music creates one special atmosphere. The first time I listened to it I kind of expected it to kick start and become faster, but after listening to it a couple of times I really enjoy hearing that it keeps the same pace all through the song. I enjoy hearing Johan’s male vocal shadowing Angelica’s in the chorus and I must say that I don’t think I have heard anything quite like this - the song is it’s simply brilliant.

‘Man in the Moon’ has a simple and in a way playful tone; I really like the mix of slow and fast parts as well as the moving lyrics that easily get stuck on your mind. In the middle of the song you hear a cool drum part before the song kind of pause up a bit before it continue on.


01. Intro
02. Sinking Deep
03. Into this World
04. Tomorrow
05. Run
06. Frail Misconceptions
07. Things that you Miss
08. A Quiet Day
09. My Judgement Day
10. Red Red Stars
11. Man in the Moon
12. Sampo
13. Tomorrow (Leather Strip Version
14: Red Red Star (Red Velvet Lounge Remix)


Angelica Segerbäck - voice, glockenspiel, cello, lyrics and composing
Johan Svärdshammar - synth, guitar, bass (with a sickle), voice, composing and lyrics


Cover Picture



Music: 8
Sound: 8
Extras: -
Total: 8 / 10

You are here: Home Artists U-Z CD Review: Waves Under Water - All Of Your Light