RoD header


monstertruck furiosity
Artist: Monster Truck
Title: Furiosity
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 31st May 2013
Label: Dine Alone Records

Album Review

MONSTER TRUCK was rising in 2008 out of the ashes of different Canadian Indie bands. As Jeremy Widerman stated, the band wanted to combine their favourites from Hard Rock, Punk and Classic Rock and make something rough and wild out of it. Were they successful? Indeed they were! Musically, the band is quite comparable with bands like BLACK STONE CHERRY, BLACK LABEL SOCIETY or CLUTCH and SPIRITUAL BEGGARS. Guess you’re getting a little hint now what to expect – energy driven Hard Rock music with a little Southern Rock touch. With ‘Furiosity’, the band releases now their debut album after there are already some EPs available.

The album was produced by Eric Ratz (Billy Talent, Three Days Grace, Cancer Bats) in Toronto and Asheville. ‘Furiosity’ combines influences from Grunge and Punk with the beloved Vintage Rock. Opener ‘Old Train’ comes with epic choirs, heavy Southern-Sleaze-Rock riffs and decent Hammond organ sounds; ‘Power of the People’ is inspired by RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE and criticizes the society. ‘My Love is true’ shows the sensitive side of the band, proofing that also the slower sings are catching the audience just like the up-tempo pieces do. Anyone loving authentic Rock music will surely love MONSTER TRUCK.


01. Old Train - 3:11
02. The Lion - 4:03
03. Power Of The People - 2:32
04. Sweet Mountain River - 3:48
05. Psychics - 3:53
06. Oh Lord - 2:55
07. For The Sun - 7:20
08. Boogie - 2:22
09. Undercover Love - 3:55
10. The Giant - 2:05
11. Call It A Spade - 3:55
12. My Love Is True - 5:28


Jon Harvey - Bass, Vocals
Jeremy Widerman - Guitar, Vocals
Brandon Bliss - Organ, Vocals
Steve Kiely - Drums, Vocals

Website /

Cover Picture

monstertruck furiosity


Music: 8
Sound: 8
Extras: -
Total: 8 / 10

Comments powered by CComment