RoD header

apocalyptica 2024 byRikiMurtoAPOCALYPTICA is thrilled to announce a stunning follow-up to their legendary debut record. ‘Apocalyptica Plays Metallica Vol. 2’ will continue the journey that began in 1996 when cellists from Helsinki’s world-renowned Sibelius Academy played symphonic tribute to the biggest of the big four - heavy metal titans METALLICA. For their ninth record the classically-minded dynamos are returning to their roots to bring a legendary story full circle. It also features a host of surprises beginning with a unique collaboration.

Lead single ‘The Four Horsemen’, taken from METALLICA’s 1983 debut ‘Kill 'Em All’ will feature METALLICA bassist Rob Trujillo, setting the scene for a compendium of deep cuts and brilliant highlights spanning METALLICA’s staggering 40-year career, and there are more surprises to come. Founding band-leader Eicca Toppinen comments: “It’s the coolest thing. We didn’t push - it was offered. We played the first album live and it was so much more fun and exciting than we expected, so we got the idea to do something like the first album, but we couldn’t do it in exactly the same way - we needed to challenge ourselves and bring a totally new perspective to the original energy and emotion of METALLICA.”

Lead cellist Perttu Kivilaakso adds: “We’ve been talking about making another METALLICA album for around 20 years, as there were still so many great songs we wanted to play! We waited for the perfect moment to do it. Thinking of that teenage me who is now getting to play his favourite tracks gives me goosebumps!” This album will be the band’s final studio release with APOCALYPTICA’s long-time member, drummer Mikko Sirén, who amicably departed after the new album’s completion. ‘Plays Metallica Vol. 2’ was produced by longtime collaborator and studio supremo Joe Barresi (QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, SOUNDGARDEN, NINE INCH NAILS, TOOL) and will be released via new label Throwdown Entertainment on June 7th.

01. Ride the Lightning
02. St. Anger
03. The Unforgiven II
04. Blackened
05. The Call of Ktulu (in memory of Cliff Burton)
06. The Four Horsemen (ft. Rob Trujillo)
07. Holier Than Thou
08. To Live Is To Die
09. One
10. One (Instrumental)

Apocalyptica is
Eicca Toppinen
Perttu Kivilaakso
Paavo Lötjönen

The band will tour Europe fall 2024. Public on sale for tickets will be Friday, February 23. They will offer upgrades to regular tickets for VIP experiences via the band’s website.

Full tour dates
08 Jun FI Helsinki - Ice Hall (public on sale 26.2.)
13 Sep AE Dubai - TBA
19 Sep TR Istanbul - Zorlu PSM
21 Sep SE Stockholm - Kagelbanan
22 Sep NO Oslo - Rockefeller
23 Sep DK Copenhagen - Amager Bio
24 Sep DK Aarhus - Train
26 Sep DE Hamburg - Große Freiheit 36
27 Sep NL Tilburg - O13
29 Sep UK Manchester - Manchester Albert Hall
30 Sep UK London - Royal Albert Hall
01 Oct IE Dublin - Olympia Theatre
03 Oct UK Glasgow - SWG3
04 Oct UK Nottingham - Rock City
05 Oct UK Cardiff - Great Uni Hall
07 Oct DE Wiesbaden - Schlachthof
08 Oct DE Munich - Tonhalle
09 Oct DE Cologne - E-Werk
10 Oct AT Vienna - Gasometer
11 Oct CZ Prague - 02 Universe
12 Oct DE Dresden - Alter Schlachthof
13 Oct DE Berlin - Columbiahalle
15 Oct PL Krakow - Studio
16 Oct PL Warsaw - Progresja
18 Oct LT Palanga - Concert Hall
19 Oct LT Kaunus - Zalgiris Arena
20 Oct LT Vilnius - Compensa Hall
21 Oct LV Riga - Arena
22 Oct EE Tallinn - Alexella Hall
11 Nov LX Esch Alzette - Rockhal
12 Nov BE Brussels - AB
13 Nov FR Paris - L’Olympia
14 Nov FR Bordeaux - Le Rocher
15 Nov ES Bilbao - Santana 27
17 Nov PT Lisbon - LAV
18 Nov ES Madrid - La Riviera
19 Nov ES Barcelona - Razzmatazz
20 Nov FR Marseille - Espace Julien
21 Nov IT Milan - Alcatraz
22 Nov CH Lausanne - Metropole
23 Nov CH Zurich - Komplex
25 Nov HU Budapest - Barba Negra
26 Nov RO Cluj - Form Space
27 Nov RO Bucharest - Sala Palatului
28 Nov BG Sofia - NDK (National Palace of Culture)
29 Nov MK Skopje - Boris Trajovski Arena
30 Nov RS Belgrade - Hangar

Source: Press Release / Picture by Riki Murto

See also (all categories):

Comments powered by CComment