RoD header


4lyn01Zeche, Bochum, Germany
19th October 2012
4Lyn & Fire In Fairyland

4LYN are back on track following a long period of dormancy over difficulties and they were building up steam during that time. Something that needs releasing sooner or later. 4LYN did it with the release of their most recent album 'Quasar' in this year's May. But this is certainly just a vanguard or meant as preparation for the real strike which is now going to follow with 4LYN hitting the road to push their audience physically and mentally to the limit until they're begging for mercy. The Bochum show was just the second of their ‘Quasar’ tour.

Fire In Fairyland

German band FIRE IN FAIRYLAND is heading from Celle and was founded in 2009. The debut album ‘Lit’ was released in 2011 and currently, the band is working on a new release, ‘For A Glimmer Of Limelight’, to be out on 11th January 2013. FIRE IN FAIRYLAND is Anna Peschke (vocals), Torben Boyen (guitar, vocals), Hannes Huke (guitar), Pasco Karamanlis (bass) and Florian Knigge (drums). /


Music & Performance
When the band entered the stage right in time at 19.30, the hall was just filled up by probably not more than 100 people. So, the band had quite a hard task to present itself to this small crowd. But the lady and the four guys did pretty well. They convinced with pushing, modern sound and energetic stage performance. Their sound moves somewhere between Pop-Punk and Hardcore influenced by bands like MAYDAY PARADE, PARAMORE or A DAY TO REMEMBER. The clear voice of front woman Anna is supported by melodic guitar riffs and pushing drums. Even though the new album is not our yet, the band played five songs from it, enlarging the total setlist to seven songs by two older ones from the first album, namely ‘Chasing Shadows’ and ‘The Secret Handshake With Mr. Fate’. As a little goodie for fans, the band already brought the new album to the show to sell on the merch.


01. Get A Life
02. Chasing Shadows
03. Plant Your Seed
04. The Secret Handshake With Mr. Fate
05. Full Speed Ahead
06. Want/Need
07. Bad Time Story

Music: 6
Performance: 7
Sound: 6
Light: 7
Total: 6.5 / 10



Crossover / Nu metal / Rock band 4LYN from Hamburg, Germany, was founded in 1995, formerly known under the name HEADTRIP. Having the chance for a record deal in 2000, the band renamed to 4LYN where 4 stands for the number of band members. During their history, the band released a few albums, ‘Quasar’, the latest one, was out in May 2012 and is followed now finally by a German tour. The second show of the tour leads the band to Bochum. 4LYN is Ron Cazzato (vocals), Dennis Krüger (guitar), Sascha Carrilho (drums) and Björn Düßler (bass). /


Music & Performance
When the four guys from Hamburg entered the stage sharp at 20.30, the hall was at least a little better filled as during the support band. I guess it was something between 200 and 300 people attending the show. But they were hot for the band. In the front rows, you could spot mostly girls waiting for the 4 musicians. Well, They are indeed not unattractive, so it was nothing to wonder that so many girls stood close to stage. As you know, the band has just a new album out. That means, there had to be several new song sin the set and so, right after the intro when finally all musicians had entered the stage, 4LYN started with ‘My Guide’ and ‘Someone's Got 2 Do It’ from the ‘Quasar’ album. When those two songs were played, the audience got already asked if they are here to celebrate… they’ll get the best setlist they ever have experienced… at least when you believe Ron’s words.


With lots of screams, ‘Whooo’ started and it was already time for a Wall of Death and people jumping around. As usually it was mostly the boys doing so, but a few of the girls joined them at least, happy to celebrate and not only watch the attractive boys performing. The mood was fantastic from the beginning and you had the feeling the hall was sold-out and not just half filled. After ‘Club Exploitation / Not Like You’ it was time for some older stuff including also two medleys and some Jam session; the ‘Hip-Hop Medley’ surely was a big surprise and people had lots of fun. The ‘Cover Jam’ ended in famous RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE song ‘Bulls On Parade’. With new song ‘Frost’, the main set finally ended. But so far, the band did not have enough surprises presented to the fans. There was one more to come up in the encore block, to be exact it as an acoustic version of ‘Hollow Man / Eobane’ surprising the audience. Finally, the band released the fans into the night with their last song ‘The Good Life Period’.


01. Intro
02. My Guide
03. Someone's Got 2 Do It
04. Whooo
05. Club Exploitation / Not Like You
06. Stay Different
07. Gone
08. Nostalgia
09. Debut Medley
10. LYN
11. Hip-Hop Medley
12. Cover Jam
13. Bulls on Parade (Rage Against The Machine cover)
14. Train 2.0
15. Pearls & Beauty
16. Frost
17. Hollow Man / Eobane
18. Bahama Mama
19. The Good Life Period

Music: 7
Performance: 9
Sound: 7
Light: 7
Total: 7.8 / 10


All pictures by Daniela Vorndran ( / / /

Comments powered by CComment