RoD header


iananderson homoerraticus
Artist: Ian Anderson
Title: Homo Erraticus
Genre: Rock / Progressive
Release Date: 11th April 2014
Label: K-Scope Records

Album Review

'Homo Erraticus' is the continuation of JETHRO TULL's ground-breaking album 'Thick As A Brick' and as both of the other albums did centring around the fictional character Gerald Bostock who happened to stumble upon texts of an Ernest T. Parritt who had some wild imaginations after falling from a horse, which apparently had a very traumatizing effect on his overall psyche. Well, so what does that mean for this album? It delves into history itself, particularly into a palette of different characters, Parrit imagined to have lived as and covering different eras in time. So, given the album being released in 2014 would have you thinking this must become quite modern sounding effort. On the other hand, knowing Anderson's refusal of following any kind of trend, the record is closer to the sound of classic era Progressive Rock than anything else.

I'm feeling a little bit remembered of the very first albums of KING CRIMSON listening to it. The album's got so many shades and influences it's impossible to name all of them, but Anderson apart from his trademark flute is going through the lands of folk, singer/ songwriter, even medieval music mixed with an omnipresent element of classic rock and its progressive offspring. Not to mention the witty depictions of past lives and puns on the modern age and society. This is undoubtedly an album not to be explored in a single run and will most likely satisfy all the high expectations one could righteously have for an album by IAN ANDERSON.


01. Doggerland
02. Heavy Metals
03. Enter the Uninvited
04. Puer Ferox Adventus
05. Meliora Sequamur
06. The Turnpike Inn
07. The Engineer
08. The Pax Britannica
09. Tripudium Ad Bellum
10. After These Wars
11. New Blood, Old Veins
12. In for a Pound
13. The Browning of the Green
14. Per Errationes Ad Astra
15. Cold Dead Reckoning


Ian Anderson – lead and backing vocals, flute, acoustic guitar
Florian Opahle – electric guitar
John O'Hara – piano, organ, keyboards, accordion
David Goodier – bass guitar
Scott Hammond – drums, percussion
Ryan O'Donnell – additional vocals


Cover Picture

iananderson homoerraticus


Music: 7
Sound: 8
Extras: -
Total: 7.5 / 10

Comments powered by CComment