RoD header


Artist: Flogging Molly
Title: Speed of darkness
Genre: Irish Folk / Folk Punk
Release Date: 27th May 2011
Label: Borstal Beat Records

Album Review

It´s been three years ago that FLOGGING MOLLY released their album ‘Float’, and now they’re back! But the surprising fact is that the new album not really sounds like its predecessors anymore. The typical guitar sound had to clear the field for “native” or “original” instruments. Due to the financial crisis that stroke the industrial metropolises most of all, Dave King and his fellas take on undertones as it seems. The songs came into being in Detroit, one of those cities that probably suffered most of that issue. Thousands of people lost their jobs and were faced with ruin. Right into that situation FLOGGING MOLLY created a mood on ‘Speed of darkness’ that mirrors the feelings of a whole generation in a special way… based on the Irish roots.

The songs live on the tartly lyrics and a composing that is full of rage, dissatisfaction, frustration and the attitude of giving no fuck at all, due to the will to live anyway. It’s a release that invites to bawl the songs, to raise your fist, while lying in each other’s arms crying and drinking, dancing and “to howl at the moon” when you’re pretty drunk! Although “hardcore fans” would say that FLOGGING MOLLY lose their typical sound, it’s impressive how diversified a band can be. The adjustment in favour of traditional instrumentation causes a kind of freshness and brings out the unspoiled character of Irish Folk. Or to cut the long story short: It’s fuckin´ awesome!


01. Speed Of Darkness
02. Revolution
03. The Heart Of The Sea
04. Don’t Shut ‘Em Down
05. The Power’s Out
06. So Sail On
07. Saints & Sinners
08. Present State Of Grace
09. The Cradle Of Human Kind
10. Oliver Boy (All Of Our Boys)
11. A Prayer For Me In Silence
12. Rise Up


Bass - Nathen Maxwell
Vocals - Dave King, Bridget Regan, Rest: Backing Vocals
Guitars - Dave King, Dennis Casey, Bridget Regan
Drums - George Schwindt
Others - Dave King (Bodhran), Matthew Hensley (Accordion, Concertina, Piano), Bridget Regan (Tin Whistle, Uilleann Pipes), Robert Schmidt (Mandolin, Mandola, Banjos)

Website / /

Cover Picture



Music: 10
Sound: 10
Extras: -
Total: 10 / 10

Comments powered by CComment