RoD header


ghostbrigade untilfear
Artist: Ghost Brigade
Title: Until Fear No Longer Defines Us
Genre: Progressive / Melodic Death Metal
Release Date: 19th August 2011
Label: Season Of Mist

Album Review

The Finnish GHOST BRIGADE, after 6 years and 2 CDs, are returning back with their latest release. Their strongest points are the lyrics and the crossover between the Progressive and the Melodic Death metal that they play. Their negatives? More than likely is the voice of Manne Ikonen which is plain enough for the Progressive parts of the songs, plus it oozes studio process. At the end I’ve a feeling that there are some octaves missing from his voice’s reach. So whilst the crossover in terms of music works perfectly as the two genres blend and juxtapose each other perfectly, it is not the case of the vocals. The only part where the vocals maintain their power is with the Black metal position. The best song of the album is the ‘Clawmaster’ where each component intertwines with the whole and Ikonen’s voice is perfect for it. On the other hand, the ‘In The Woods’ is pathetic exactly for the reason I mentioned above. Besides these two songs the rest of the album flows in a way predictably with its cool (‘The Divine Act of Lunacy’) and its bad moments (‘Grain’), making the listening experience some kind of a burden.


01. In The Woods – 4:27
02. Clawmaster – 6:50
03. Chamber – 6:55
04. Traces Of Liberty – 4:10
05. Divine Act Of Lunacy – 5:13
06. Grain – 5:39
07. Breakwater – 9:11
08. Cult Of Decay – 4:57
09. Torn – 4:54
10. Soulcarvers – 8:12


Manne Ikonen – Vocals
Tommi Kiviniemi – Guitar
Wille Naukkarinen – Guitar
Veli-Matti Suihkonen – Drums
Janne Julin – Bass


Cover Picture

ghostbrigade untilfear


Music: 5
Sound: 8
Total: 6.5 / 10

Comments powered by CComment