RoD header


Artist: Killing Joke
Title: Absolute Dissent
Genre: Post-punk / Metal
Release Date: 27th September 2010
Label: Spinefarm Records

Album Review

KILLING JOKE, founded in London back in 1978, is without a doubt one of the most seminal and influential post-punk bands that ever existed, providing inspiration to bands like NIRVANA, MINISTRY, NINE INCH NAILS and many others. After the death of their long-time bassist Paul Raven in 2007, the original line up - that had previously diverged to various side-projects - decided to unite, coinciding with the 30th anniversary of the band. 12-track 'Absolute Dissent' is their first album with the original line up since the 1982 album 'Revelations'.

While some tracks on the album, like 'Here Comes the Singularity', remind of the 80's era of the band - 'Fresh Fever From The Skies' brings back memories from as far as from their first releases - it's not just a step back in time to the early days of KILLING JOKE. The album brings beautifully together sludge metal sounds from their previous album ('This World Hell'), poppy synths ('European Super State') and beautiful, progressive melodies and soundscapes (touching 'The Raven King', dedicated to Paul Raven) from the later eighties, eventually mixing in some dub ('Ghosts On Ladbroke Grove').

'Absolute Dissent' is all this and much more, yet manages to be a structured body of work. Sounds are fresh and sharp, yet harsh and bleak - creating a perfect combination with the lyrics that preach the imminent apocalypse. Nevertheless, the album is not all daunting and desolate: Instead of dwelling in despair, 'Absolute Dissent' is indeed raging for resistance. There is still a tinge of hope for us. In all its diversity, 'Absolute Dissent' is not simply echoing the past. It is a truly fascinating album, on which every fan is bound to find something to please their taste. The album is also available as a 2CD pack including a tribute album featuring METALLICA, FOO FIGHTERS and many others.


01. Absolute Dissent
02. The Great Cull
03. Fresh Fever From The Skies
04. In Excelsis
05. European Super State
06. This World Hell
07. Endgame
08. The Raven King
09. Honour The Fire
10. Depthcharge
11. Here Comes The Singularity
12. Ghosts On Ladbroke Grove


Jeremy '"Jaz" Coleman - vocals, keyboards
Kevin "Geordie" Walker - guitarist
Martin "Youth" Glover - bass
"Big" Paul Ferguson - drums


Cover Picture


Music: 10
Sound: 9
Extras: -
Total: 9.5 / 10


Comments powered by CComment