RoD header


slipknot antennastohell
Artist: Slipknot
Title: Antennas To Hell
Genre: Alternative Metal
Release Date: 24th July 2012
Label: Roadrunner Records

Album Review

SLIPKNOT certainly seems to like their recent compilation albums and re-releases these days. With the re-release of ‘Iowa’ late 2011 and a live disc to accompany, it may seem a bit sour that less than a year later the band (or record label) is doing the same thing again. Like the ‘Iowa’ re-release, ‘Antennas To Hell’ features two discs- one a “best of” all the way through SLIPKNOT discography and the second a live album collected from the Download Fest of 2009. As far as the compilation album goes, it features “hits” that were either fan favourites at shows or played on Hard Rock/ Heavy Metal radio stations that span all the way from the debut ‘Slipknot’ to the latest ‘All Hope Is Gone.’ More than likely the average SLIPKNOT fan will have one or two of these albums so nearly half the first disc is accounted for, so unless one is a complete diehard fan or just getting into the group and only wants to hear the singles, then the music here isn’t quite as appealing as it might seem at first. Sure there are a few rarities such as the ‘New Abuse Mix’ of ‘My Plague’ and a live sample of ‘The Heretic Anthem’, but considering the second disc is full of live tracks that notion just doesn’t give much incentive to run out and grab the album just for these two tracks.

On the plus side, the playlist for the Download Fest in England is something new for both new and old SLIPKNOT fans. While some might have felt cheated with the ‘Iowa’ re-release with the ‘Disasterpiece live’ considering it was released as a DVD years before. With the second disc listeners get the treat of over an hour of SLIPKNOT live in a more recent/ modern fashion. Sure there are repeats of tracks like ‘Eyeless’ and ‘Left Behind’, but new tracks make their way in such as ‘Sulfur’ and ‘Psychosocial’ from the last studio album. The disc also features more band/ audience interaction in between tracks and during pieces like ‘Eyeless’ and ‘Dead Memories’. And of course there is the closing ‘Spit It Out’ with the famous “jumping” part which always a staple at every show. The entire listen is an intense experience that could only be matched by the release of LAMB OF GOD’s ‘Wrath 2009 Tour’ release with ‘Resolution,’ and is a very good reason to grab the album even if one doesn’t want the first compilation. ‘Antennas To Hell’ definitely shows why SLIPKNOT is still one of the biggest, ever changing names in Metal, despite what naysayers put out, and even though the last two recent releases may feel like sell-outs, the music certainly is not.


01. (sic)
02. Eyeless
03. Wait And Bleed
04. Spit It Out
05. Surfacing
06. People = Shit
07. Disasterpiece
08. Left Behind
09. My Plague (New Abuse Mix)
10. The Heretic Anthem (Live In London 2002)  
11. Purity (Live In London 2002)
12. Pulse Of The Maggots
13. Duality
14. Before I Forget
15. Vermilion (Terry Date Mix)
16. Sulfur
17. Psychosocial
18. Dead Memories (Radio Mix)
19. Snuff

01. (sic) (Live)
02. Eyeless (Live)
03. Wait And Bleed (Live)
04. Get This (Live)
05. Before I Forget (Live)
06. Sulfur (Live)
07. The Blister Exists (Live)
08. Dead Memories (Live)
09. Left Behind (Live)
10. Disasterpiece (Live)
11. Vermilion (Live)
12. Everything Ends (Live)
13. Psychosocial (Live)
14. Duality (Live)
15. People = Shit (Live)
16. Surfacing (Live)
17. Spit it Out (Live)

Line up

(#0) Sid Wilson – turntables, keyboards
(#1) Joey Jordison – drums
(#2) Paul Gray – bass, backing vocals
(#3) Chris Fehn – custom percussion, backing vocals
(#4) Josh Brainard – guitars (Tracks 1-5)
(#4) Jim Root – guitars (Except tracks 1-5)
(#5) Craig Jones – samples, media, keyboards
(#6) Shawn Crahan – custom percussion, backing vocals
(#7) Mick Thomson – guitars
(#8) Corey Taylor – vocals


Cover Picture

slipknot antennastohell


Music: 7
Sound: 7
total: 7 / 10

Comments powered by CComment