Search Event Tickets


Buy Music & Merch!

Nuclear Blast Online Shop


Event Calendar

September 2021
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3

Latest Events

Sun Oct 17 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: TIM VANTOL

Latest News

blacksabbath paranoid 4CDThe vinyl Deluxe Edition will be released on October 9th! The original album, the rare Quad Mix and two of their 1970s concerts, here for the first time on vinyl, will be included on 5 LPs and will be also available digitally and as a 4CD set! Widely regarded as the inventor of the music genre called Heavy Metal, the Birmingham-based band BLACK SABBATH is celebrating the 50th anniversary of their album ‘Paranoid’, which has sold millions of times, with the re-release in October 2020.

The ‘Paranoid Super Deluxe Edition’ contains the original album including the rare 1974 Quad Mix of the album. Released for the first time on vinyl and 8-track cartridges at the time and has not been available for a long time, it has now been mixed to stereo for the best sound quality. There are also 2 concerts from 1970, recorded in Montreux and Brussels. These two concerts were pressed on vinyl for the very first time! The 5x LP set comes in a hardcover with detailed liner notes, interviews of all 4 band members, rare photos, memorabilia and a poster, as well as a reprint of the tour book as it was sold on the Paranoid Tour. Pre-orders:

After the success of their debut album ‘Black Sabbath’, released on Friday, February 13, 1970, Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler and Bill Ward immediately followed up with ‘Paranoid’ in September of the same year. The album hit the top 5 UK charts and sold 4 million in the US alone. In Germany, the single ‘Paranoid’ reached the top 20 in October 1970 and reached number 1 on the charts in December 1970. Even today, songs like ‘War Pigs’, ‘Planet Caravan’, ‘Iron Man’ and of course ‘Paranoid’ inspire generations of musicians worldwide.

The last three LPs in the collection are the band’s official vinyl debut with 2 live performances from 1970. One of the concerts was recorded on August 31st in Montreux, Switzerland, just before the release of ‘Paranoid’. The band’s close connection and enthusiasm for playing could already be clearly heard. During the concert they played new songs like ‘Hand Of Doom’ and ‘Iron Man’, as well as older songs like ‘N.I.B.’ and ‘Behind The Wall Of Sleep’, which come from their debut album. The second concert was recorded a few months later in Brussels when the band appeared on Belgian television there.

blacksabbath paranoid 5LP

Tracklist Paranoid Super Deluxe 5-LP Boxed Set

LP 1: Original Album
Side A
01. War Pigs / Luke’s Wall
02. Paranoid
03. Planet Caravan
04. Iron Man
Side B
05. Electric Funeral
06. Hand Of Doom
07. Rat Salad
08. Jack The Stripper / Fairies Wear Boots

LP 2: Quadradisc Mix in Stereo (WS4 1887) 1974
Side C
09. War Pigs / Luke’s Wall
10. Paranoid
11. Planet Caravan
12. Iron Man
Side D
13. Electric Funeral
14. Hand Of Doom
15. Rat Salad
16. Jack The Stripper / Fairies Wear Boots

LP 3: Live in Montreux 1970 (Part One)
Side E
17. Intro
18. Paranoid
19. N.I.B.
20. Behind The Wall Of Sleep
Side F
21. Iron Man
22. War Pigs

LP 4: Live in Montreux 1970 (Part Two) / Live in Brussels 1970 (Part One)
Side G
23. Fairies Wear Boots
24. Hand Of Doom
Side H
25. Paranoid
26. Hand Of Doom
27. Rat Salad
28. Iron Man

LP 5: Live in Brussels 1970 (Part Two)
Side J
29. Black Sabbath
30. N.I.B.
Side K
31. Behind The Wall Of Sleep
32. War Pigs
33. Fairies Wear Boots

Source: Press Release

Related Articles

You are here: Home News Releases BLACK SABBATH - Celebrates the 50th anniversary of their cult album “Paranoid”