RoD header

girlsunderglass backdraftGIRLS UNDER GLASS unveil the black and white video ‘We Feel Alright’, which is also the first single taken from the forthcoming album ‘Backdraft’. After a long hiatus the Hamburgian Gothic Rockers return with fiery new tracks that take the best elements from the band’s past and shapes them into an album that leads the way to the future. The release date of ‘Backdraft’ has been slated to June 2, 2023.

GIRLS UNDER GLASS comment: “The original version of ‘We Feel Alright’ was already introduced for years ago live on stage, but ever since we have continued to work on the song until it was just perfect for us”, synth player Axel Ermes explains. “This track comes with the vibe of our classics, yet it is also moving forward. It was fun to work on the two alternative mixes, which will be available as bonus tracks.”

01. Backdraft Prelude
02. Nightkiss
03. Tainted (feat. Mortiis)
04. We Feel Alright
05. No Hope No Fear
06. Eiskalt / Sunburst (feat. DerHarms)
07. Tanz im Neonlicht
08. Everything Will Die
09.Endless Nights
10. Heart on Fire

GIRLS UNDER GLASS are back with a bang! The Germans’ new studio album ‘Backdraft’ is best described as a creative explosion that lets all the beloved sounds of their previous works shine brightly and combined on this record. ‘Backdraft’ easily shifts gears from catchy Gothic Rock to electronic Dark Wave and up to melodic Post Punk. All the elements that turned the band into a bedrock of the dark side of the German Rock and Wave scene are back in one way or another and enhanced by juicy additions of post-punk and even industrial ingredients.

And while the sounds are immediately reminiscent of the 80s and early 90s, GIRLS UNDER GLASS have not just rested on their past creative laurels but upgraded their music to the new millennium. The Hamburgians are as unmistakably moving through their own musical world as ever and their renewed passion is audible in every note.

This self-referencing approach to reach exciting new sound dimensions is reflected in the album title, which is alluding to a phenomenon that can occur in the course of large fires. When a fire has exhausted most of the oxygen in a largely closed space, the resulting gases can quickly lose volume while cooling down. This creates a vacuum effect that sucks air in from surrounding areas through any opening into the partially closed space. If enough oxygen enters the room, it can reignite and lead to an explosion.

In artistic terms something similar happened, when GIRLS UNDER GLASS started composing some new tracks for an EP to round off a planned boxset of their complete works. The fire reignited and songs kept coming. The band from Hamburg understood that their batteries had recharged to bursting point after a 17-year break and the projected EP turned into a full-length. Of course, nothing stays the same after such a long time and even though GIRLS UNDER GLASS revisited their classic sounds, something fresh and new came out of the recordings. This also reflects in the lyrics, which in 2023 are less personal than before but reflect on the dystopian issues of our times. As it turns out, such lyrical themes are a perfect fit for the powerful and often sinister current sound of the Hamburgians.

Yet although things change, sometimes they also return to a previous state. Former vocalist Thomas “Tom” Lücke has not only joined the band again on stage where he alternated with current singer Volker Zacharias, but Tom also recorded with GIRLS UNDER GLASS as he is singing on the tracks of the EP that comes out alongside this album. GIRLS UNDER GLASS started out in the city of Hamburg in 1986 and quickly became one of the spearheads of the German Gothic Rock and Dark Wave scene. From 1994 until 2006, the band expanded their musical horizon and experimented with Rock, Crossover, and even Metal sounds. With an impressive discography under their belt and a massive loyal fanbase, it came of something of a shock when the band seemed to fizzle out of existence.

Luckily, the long wait is finally over: GIRLS UNDER GLASS return with a fiery and passionate full-length. ‘Backdraft’ will return the band to where it belongs: on top!

Album Details
Release date: June 2, 2023
Style: Gothic Rock
Line-up: Volker Zacharias – vocals, guitar / Axel Ermes – synth, electronics / Falko Grau – bass / Tom Lücke – vocals on all EP tracks
Guest musician: Mortiis – vocals on ‘Tainted’
Recorded, mixed & produced by Axel Ermes and Volker Zacharias
Mastered by Chris Harms at Chameleon Studios
Cover by Greg Rolfes
Graphic design & artwork by Ulrike Rank
Links: /
Available formats: 72-page Artbook incl. bonus CD / copper orange vinyl LP

Source: Press Release

Comments powered by CComment