RoD header

govtmule peacelikeariverGOV’T MULE release ‘Peace... Like A River’ on June 16th on Fantasy Records - Concord (Universal Music). The first single ‘Dreaming Out Loud’ featuring Ivan Neville and Ruthie Foster is streaming now.

Acclaimed GRAMMY-nominated band GOV’T MULE have announced their new studio album ‘Peace... Like A River’ will be out this summer and have released the first single, ‘Dreaming Out Loud’, featuring Ivan Neville and Ruthie Foster. For the stirring new song, GRAMMY Award-winning singer-songwriter-guitarist-producer Warren Haynes has inspired quotes from Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Robert and John Kennedy, and the late civil rights leader and US Representative John Lewis.

‘Peace... Like A River’, the band’s 12th studio album and the follow-up to their chart-topping and Grammy-nominated blues album ‘Heavy Load Blues’, will be released on June 16, 2023 via Fantasy Records. The 12-song Rock collection also includes guest appearances from Billy Bob Thornton, Celisse and Billy F. Gibbons, who performed an incredible tribute to LYNYRD SKYNYRD with Haynes at last Sunday night’s CMT Music Awards. ‘Peace... Like A River’ is available for pre-order and pre-saver on the DSPs. Every digital pre-order includes an instant download of ‘Dreaming Out Loud’. Additionally, the ‘Peace... Like A River’ Deluxe Edition (available on CD only) includes the original 12-track album plus the special 5-track ‘Time Of The Signs’ bonus EP, the four brand new unreleased tracks and one alternative version of album track ‘The River Only Flows One Way’ with Warren on lead vocals.

“‘Peace... Like A River’ is very ambitious from a musical arrangement standpoint, as many of the songs take turns that aren’t common in today’s popular music world,” says Haynes. “At the same time, it’s also a song album that covers a lot in terms of style. Song for song maybe my favorite.”

The tracks on ‘Peace... Like A River’ explore the many sides of GOV’T MULE and embody all the qualities inherent in the quartet - Haynes (guitar, vocals), Matt Abts (drums), Danny Louis (keyboards, guitar and backing vocals) and Jorgen Carlsson (bass) - have brought them the popular status they enjoy today. Succinct song craftsmanship seamlessly merges into the band’s typical instrumental excursions. Longer than pop conventions, the songs are nonetheless compact: they are inquiring but never meandering; the melodies are simultaneously expansive and narrowly focused. Thematically, the new album deals with the seismic changes that the world has gone through in recent years. Influenced by what Haynes calls “the golden era of rock, soul, jazz and blues,” GOV’T MULE brings together the best and most enduring qualities of all genres of music on ‘Peace... Like A River’ into a timeless work of art. that could easily have appeared in the classic Rock’n’Roll 70s.

‘Peace... Like A River’ was recorded during the same sessions as ‘Heavy Load Blues’ at Power Station New England with co-producer John Paterno (Elvis Costello, Bonnie Raitt, Los Lobos) alongside Haynes. However, the albums were created in different spaces, without common equipment or instruments, so that the two parallel projects keep their own identity and character.

A key difference on ‘Peace... Like A River’ is the presence of talented friends in key guest roles. Billy F. Gibbons’ distinctive vocals underline the tasteful ZZ TOP textures that define the humorous ‘Shake Our Way Out’, while Billy Bob Thornton brings his distinctive voice to ‘The River Only Flows One Way’. For the opening track, ‘Dreaming Out Loud’, Haynes wanted a sort of SLY AND THE FAMILY STONE style, with different singers taking on different sections of the song. So he brought in blues great Ruthie Foster, whose backing vocals graced GOV’T MULE’s 2006 album ‘High & Mighty’, and his longtime friend, New Orleans soul legend Ivan Neville. Finally, up-and-coming soul artist Celisse adds her incredible voice to ‘Just Across The River’.

01. Same As It Ever Was
02. Shake Our Way Out (ft. Billy Gibbons)
03. Made My Peace
04. Peace I Need
05. Your Only Friend
06. Dreaming Out Loud (ft. Ivan Neville and Ruthie Foster)
07. Head Full Of Thunder
08. The River Only Flows One way (ft. Billy Bob Thornton)
09. After The Storm
10. Just Across The River (ft. Celisse Henderson)
11. Long Time Coming
12. Gone Too Long

Deluxe edition (CD Only) – Time Of The Signs EP tracklist
01. Stumblebum
02. Under The Tent
03. Time Stands Still
04. Blue, Blue Wind
05. The River Only Flows One Way (WH vocals)

Source: Press Release

Comments powered by CComment