RoD header


ivardenspeher fable
Artist: iVardensphere
Title: Fable
Genre: Electro / Industrial
Release Date: 13th March 2015
Label: Metropolis Records

Album Review

For their newest instalment 'Fable', the lads of IVARDENSPHERE abandon the standard issue and take on a rather mythical approach that shifts the focus from the material to the immaterial, into a world where what we have come to know as legends becomes reality. Considering all of this, it should come as no surprise that the music itself also breathes an otherworldly aura, at times coming off as echoes penetrating the walls between dimensions best exhibited on the opening 'Million Year Echo' haunted by ominous choirs and a frightening calm frequently disrupted by a violent burst of noise infusions. 'Stygian' offers a massive rhythmic base for the screaming to permeate the air through a wall of throbbing bass distortion. The 'Tribes Of Moth' track for me symbolizes an aural walk through the dark, which is called a home by something that usually avoids getting into the light; rather gliding through the blackness.

We're calling out the voodoo people with 'Papa Legba' and find ourselves right in the darkest corners of the south celebrating a ritual with the rhythm swelling and subsiding guiding the participants to one specific point. 'The Girl Without Hands' feels like a vision in its successful attempt to fuse literal storytelling with what would otherwise be separated as the soundtrack. You can almost see the images taking shape. For the last act, we're tugged deep beneath the waves of the stormy sea, where it's all quiet... and peaceful? I don't get that feeling yet, but intriguing it is all the way through with ominous tones embedded into wet beats suggesting the endless depth of the sea. 'Fable' is  a very visual album front to back. It is crucial to its concept and the listener has to have knack for connecting music with powerful images for the album to fully unfold.


01. Million Year Echo
02. Stygian
03. The Woodsman and the Serpent
04. Tribes of Moth (feat. Mari Kattman)
05. A Tale of Two Wolves
06. Black Lodge
07. Papa Legba
08. It is As Blackness is
09. Disir (feat. Nymm)
10. Messiah (feat. Mari Kattman)
11. Terra Sapian
12. The Girl Without Hands
13. Yesterday-s Giant
14. Poseidon (feat. Brittany B...)


Scott Fox - Electronics/Drums
Jamie Blacker - Electronics/Drums/Vocals
Yann Faussurier - Electronics
Sean Malley - Drums
Chuck Murphy - Drums/Vocals


Cover Picture

ivardenspeher fable


Music: 7
Sound: 8
Extras: -
Total: 7.5 / 10

Comments powered by CComment