RoD header


Title: A Touch of Evil (Live)
Artist: Judas Priest
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 10th July 2009
Label: Sony Music

Album Review

It was in 1979, when legendary Heavy Metal heroes JUDAS PRIEST released the live album ‘Unleashed in the East’ which was to go down in musical history as one of most accomplished of the genre. 30 years later, in 2009 it’s time for another live document, recorded at various venues on their World Tours in 2005 and 2008 with the name ‘A Touch of Evil’. The track list has been made solely of tracks that never were released on a CD before and begins with the blasting tunes ‘Judas Rising’ and ‘Hell Rider’ leading us into the annals of Heavy Metal and most likely causing the adrenaline level of seasoned fans to rise up very high. No wonder, as the atmosphere we’re thrown in here is drenched in that stuff. The band delivers spectacular only in case of Rob Halford we have to record a little flaw. His voice weakens slightly on some tracks but he’s also not the youngest anymore is he?

What spoils the listening experience is that a cohesive live experience like from a single concert recording isn’t generated. It literally sounds like a piece of this and a piece of that. The sound could be a bit better as well yet it’s still above average and not sludgy. SO, who should buy this one? I guess it’s mostly a thing for long-time fans to add to their collection to have the complete catalogue on their hands and maybe for those wanting to get an idea of the band.


01. Judas Rising – 4:23
02. Hellrider – 5:37
03. Between the Hammer and the Anvil – 4:34
04. Riding on the Wind – 3:28
05. Messenger of Death – 7:51
06. Beyond The Realms Of Death – 6:51
07. Dissident Aggressor – 3:03
08. A Touch of Evil – 6:10
09. Eat Me Alive – 4:35
10. Prophecy – 6:07
11. Painkiller – 7:12


Rob Halford – Vocals
Glenn Tipton – Guitar
K.K.Downing - Guitar
Ian Hill - Bass
Scott Travis - Drums

Website /

Cover Picture


Music: 7
Sound: 7
Extras: -
Total: 7 / 10


Comments powered by CComment