RoD header


unisonic lightofdawn
Artist: Unisonic
Title: Light Of Dawn
Genre: Power Metal / Rock
Release Date: 1st August 2014
Label: earMusic/ Edel

Album Review

UNISONIC is one of those so called super-groups consisting of former and current members of HELLOWEEN (Michael Kiske, Kai Hansen) PINK CREAM 69 (Dennis Ward, Kosta Zafiriou) and GOTTHARD (Mandy Meyer). This very interesting and talented outfit formed in 2009 and this is the review to their second output called ‘Light Of Dawn’. The whole thing started as a rather loose union of similar working musicians. In the beginning they thwarted themselves by being too self-critical, the song writing process was boosted by Kai Hansen who at that point joined the band.

The band played a few festivals like the Japanese Loud Park Festival and last year’s Rock Hard Festival in Germany. Their first album ‘Ignition’ was a very well received piece of music and the EP ‘For the Kingdom’ gave reason to suspect that the follow-up was of similar quality. This really is a band that defines the word “super-group” good and classic songwriting, great sing-a-long choruses a band with great skills at their instruments and a vocalist that deserves the characterization “singer”. I grew up with songs sung by Kiske and Hansen and I will never grow tired of listening to their music. As highlights I have to point out ‘You and I’, ‘Manhunter’ and ‘Judgment Day’ (Deluxe CD only).

The follow-up to ignition really ups the ante, the song writing seems a bit more natural and the band’s overall sound is better balanced in direct comparison. The guitar work is first class again and gives the composition’s direction, the drumming is good but functional (I almost never listen to drums at all) keeping the music in line. Kiske is very good as always making this record a must buy for every old school HELLOWEEN fan. So if you are a fan of the first UNISONIC album or HELLOWEEN in the Kiske era you should be excited for the first of August for on this very day you can buy ‘Light of Dawn’. Maybe at this point of their career there is not much to say with just two records out but otherwise I had nothing negative to say either.


01. Venite 2.0
02. Your Time Has Come
03. Exceptional
04. For The Kingdom
05. Not Gonna Take Anymore
06. Night Of The Long Knives
07. Find Shelter
08. Blood
09. When The Deed Is Done
10. Throne Of The Dawn
11. Manhunter
12. You and I
13. Judgement Day(Bonus Track – Deluxe Album only)


Michael Kiske - vocals
Mandy Meyer - guitars
Kai Hansen - guitars
Dennis Ward - bass
Kosta Zafiriou - drums

Website /

Cover Picture

unisonic lightofdawn


Music: 7
Sound: 8
Extras: -
Total: 7.5 / 10

Comments powered by CComment