RoD header


tenhi saivo
Title: Saivo
Artist: Tenhi
Genre: Folk/ Folk Rock / Metal
Release Date: 2nd December 2011
Label: Prophecy Productions

Album Review

It’s been a long time since TENHI called attention to their audience with a release. But now, almost four years of hard work have come to an end. Within this time the band rearranged songs, re-recorded parts of songs and therefore postponed several release dates of ‘Saivo’, their fifth release in a career aged fifteen. Provided that the members of the band were quite confident with the material and in order to cause a certain atmosphere, the album was not released until the perfect circumstances were taken for granted. Well, sometimes it pays to hang in there! According to the cold season and the upcoming darkness this release perfectly fits my mood in these days. Telling about ‘Saivo’, one of the realms of the dead from the Sami people where the deceased pursue their everyday life, the album disperses a dreary and frowning atmosphere without overwhelming the listener.

It’s rather the fragility and the pulchritude of the arrangements and the musical structures that lets one feel torn. I’m at a loss for words to describe how impressive and striking ‘Saivo’ really is… and probably will be in the next time. On the basis of my experience with TENHI, I’m pretty sure that this release will prosper like a bottle of finest wine. ‘Saivo’ will be after me for a very long time - that’s for sure. From the bottom of my heart, it has touched me in the depths of my soul. As a listener and fan of TENHI, I’m thrice blessed with this release! Needless to say, that ‘Saivo’ is a must have… not only for fans, but for all those people that are into wonderful, elegiac music!


01. Saivon Kimallus
02. Pojan Kiiski
03. Uloin
04. Pienet Purot
05. Sateen Soutu
06. Haaksi
07. Surunuotta
08. Savoie
09. Vuoksi
10. Paluu Joelle
11. Sees
12. Siniset Runot


Tyko Saarikko - vocals, piano, harmonium, synth, guitar, percussions, didgeridoo, mouth harp, udu
Ilmari Issakainen - drums, piano, guitar, bass, percussions, backing vocals
Tuukka Tolvanen - backing vocals, guitar
Jaakko Hilppö - backing vocals, bass
Paula Rantamäki - violin

Website / /

Cover Picture

tenhi saivo


Music: 10
Sound: 10
Extras: -
Total: 10 / 10

Comments powered by CComment