RoD header


Zeche, Bochum, Germany
29th March 2007
Deftones, Will Haven

29th March had a special package in stock for all fans of Nu-Metal: US based DEFTONES came to Germany together with WILL HAVEN to rock the clubs. After a three years pause the band released the new album ‘Saturday Night Wrist’ in autumn 2006. The advantage for many German fans on that day was DEFTONES playing in a quite small club, the Zeche in Bochum, what promised a quite intimate concert experience.

Will Haven

The US Metal band was founded in Sacramento / California in 1995. The first CD ‘El Diabolo’ was released in 1997 and also back than, the band was already playing with DEFTONES in the USA as well as in some European countries. Other bands they were supporting are i.e. SLIPKNOT or LIMP BIZKIT. The second CD ‘WHVN’ was released in 1999. The third CD ‘Carpe Diem’ was released not long after. In 2003, the band split up and all band members were working in other projects. Since end of 2005, WILL HAVEN are back and played several live shows as well as working to finish a new album which is set to be released in spring 2007. Singer Grady Avenell announced in February to leave the band, but already a new singer was found in Jeff Jaworski (RED TAPE) who is a ling-time friend of the band. WILL HAVEN are today Jeff Irwin (guitar), Jeff Jaworski (vocals), Mike Martin (bass) and Mitch Wheeler (drums). 

WILL HAVEN are delivering pure Noise-core. Also with the latest album ‘Carpe Diem’ – the title track of course has been played during the show – the band follows the path they are walking on since the releases of ‘El Diabolo’ and ‘WHVN’. But they do not present easy food for the listeners and also the reactions during their show in Bochum were quite reserved. WILL HAVEN are heavy, stoic, striking and brute – but also in my taste a bit monotone. The sound of WILL HAVEN is both, simple as well as very complex on the other side. Most of the songs are based on doom chords, growling deep, which are lightened up by playful guitar melodies. Drummer Mitch did a very good job at that evening. The sound seemed not to be perfect though – a bit droning and too loud so you missed some if the nice musical gimmicks the band was presenting.

During the show in Bochum you really felt that the audience was quite reluctant and a bit confused about the stuff they were presented on stage. As said before, the music of WILL HAVEN is not easy. And so, the band got only very reserved reactions and applause by the audience. But anyway, they rocked on stage. Guitar and bass players were moshing constantly and singer Jeff was running across the stage all the time screaming into the microphone. The band had a lot of power on stage but could not totally transfer it to the audience. What was a plus point for the show: the light show was better than you would expect for a support band. Not too diversified, but very decently illuminating all the band members.


Music: 6
Performance: 7
Sound: 5
Light: 7
Total: 6.3


DEFTONES, the precursors of Indie-Metal, are celebrating their best album since ‘White Pony’. Together with KORN, the band invented some kind of new emotional Metal ten years ago. Today, the band around charismatic singer Chino Moreno is Platinum and Grammy awarded act of hard music. After a three years pause, they released the latest album ‘Saturday Night Wrist’ last autumn. The musical side of the band is marked by two stylistic poles: the Metal affinity of guitar player Stephen and the partly very melancholic chant of front man Chino who also is a CURE and DEPECHE MODE fan. The band had its break-through with the third album ‘White Pony’ after they already had released the albums ‘Adrenaline’ and ‘Around the Fur’. The current release brought the DEFTONS back stronger than before and is probably the most diversified and best album the band ever released. The DEFTONES are Chino Moreno (vocals, guitar), Chi Cheng (bass), Frank Delgado (samples, keys), Abe Cunningham (drums) and Stephen Carpenter (guitar). /

After a quite long intro, the set started unexpected for me with four songs from the break-through album ‘White Pony’ – a deep album built on a dark atmosphere full of desperation - and not with songs from the current release: Opener was ‘Korea’ followed by ‘Fieticiera’. Than a first highlight followed as Chino took a guitar to perform ‘Digital Bath’ also from ‘White Pony’ followed by ‘Knife Party’. With ‘Drive’ the band moved a bit more to the present just to go back to their roost afterward with two songs from the debut album ‘Around the Fur’: ‘My own Summer’ and ‘Lhabia’. That was also the point when the real party within the audience started and anyone was jumping around and made the floor a big mosh pit. Than it was finally time for one new song – ‘Beware’ – with its oppressive atmosphere. Guitars and drums were pushing the song forward in an unwieldy and almost bone-crushing way.

The present was followed by the past again with two songs from the 2003 album ‘Adrenaline’: ‘Root’ and Nosebleed’. Especially ‘Root’ was rocking with its speedy guitar riffs and proved again guitarist Stephen’s love for heavy metal. With ‘Hole in the Sky’ – the preliminary single to announce the new album – and ‘Xerces’, two new songs followed. ‘Hole in the Sky’ is based on huge guitar walls which fascinate the listeners. ‘Xerces’ in comparison is a more deliberate song and guaranteed for some kind of little rest. Afterwards, ‘Passenger’ and ‘Around the Fur’ led us back in time just to return to the recent album again with ‘Mein’, where Chino on the album was supported by SYSTEM OF A DOWN singer Serj Tankian. The end of the main set was marked by two songs out of 2003: the single release ‘Minerva’ and ‘Bored’ from the ‘Adrenaline’ album with its grinding and rusty-sounding guitar riffs. Three encores followed which all were quite dated. First of them was ‘Back to school’ from the EP of same name. Then we got ‘change’ from ‘White Pony’ and ‘7 words’ – a mosh-ready anthem against police corruption and racism - which ended the set in a furious way.

After thirty minutes break it was time for the headliner of the evening – and the guys from DEFTONE were celebrated from the very first moment they entered the stage – and even before when the long intro was floating through the hall. In the middle of the stage, there was some podium for Chino built up which he used extensively, standing there and shouting into the audience. And people shouted back. It did not take long until the whole floor was a huge mosh pit. Especially the older songs guaranteed for extensive dancing, jumping, shouting and clapping. Also the light show was very impressive. Bright lights covered stage and audience so you really could not only hear but also see how people celebrated the band and themselves. It was a great evening there in Bochum. If you have the chance to see DEFTONES live, go and buy a ticket! ;)

01. Korea
02. Fieticiera
03. Digital bath
04. Knife party
05. Drive
06. My own Summer
07. Lhabia
08. Beware
09. Root
10. Nosebleed
11. Hole in the earth
12. Xerces
13. Passenger
14. Around the Fur
15. Mein
16. Minerva
17. Bored
18. Back to school
19. Change
20. 7 words
Music: 8
Performance: 9
Sound: 6
Light: 9
Total: 8.2

All pictures by Daniela Vorndran ( /

Comments powered by CComment