RoD header


Title: Infinite gaze to the sun
Artist: Anders Manga
Genre: Rock / Electronic / Alternative / Darkwave
Release Date: 8th January 2010
Label: Danse Macabre Records

Album Review

ANDERS MANGA broke into the scene in April of 2004 with his debut solo release, ‘One Up for the Dying’ on Vampture Records. Described as darkwave, Goth rock, Gothtronica, etc., ANDERS MANGA has developed a quick following in many genres. He became the all-time most downloaded Goth artist at with over 40,000 downloads in 2005. Songs such as ‘Solitary Heaven’, ‘Shiver’, ‘Heart of Black’ and more have been turning up on DJ's playlists worldwide while ‘We Won't Stay Dead’ is quickly becoming a Goth / Industrial night staple. Also in 2005, ANDERS MANGA headlined Goth Stock in Hartford, CT, a two day festival featuring other Goth / Industrial artists such as The Cruxshadows, Bella Morte, Genitorturers, and many more. Two months prior he played ‘Dracula's Ball’ in Philadelphia, the largest event of its type in America before heading to Atlanta for a special show during the extremely popular fantasy arts convention, Dragoncon.

This career is almost unnoticed from “the old world” and therefore it’s really astonishing, that ‘Infinite gaze to the sun’ is the 6th release of ANDERS MANGA. Listening to the first two songs, I was a little bit surprised, because these songs seem to be more EBM or 80´s Synth Pop than the expected Darkwave sessions. Nevertheless the voice of ANDERS MANGA is quite distinctive but pleasant and really fitting the songs. The following songs are catchy and melodic, with a slight ambience of Darkwave caused by the vocals. Unfortunately ‘Santa Sangre’, an instrumental song on this release, seems to be dispensable and quite disturbing. With ‘The Transit Begins’ you’ll get a real Ambient or Darkwave feeling, while the rest of the release is more Goth Rock / Industrial. All in all, ‘Infinite gaze to the sun’ is an entertaining and pleasingly release that “causes no harm”.

Track List

01. Murder in the Convent
02. Catastrophe
03. Fortress In My Heart
04. Infinite Gaze to the Sun
05. The Monster Demands A Mate
06. Santa Sangre
07. The Transit Begins
08. Lead
09. The Last Alarm
10. Taste of Blood (Theme From A Random 80’s Vampire Movie)

Line Up

Anders Manga - Bass, Synth, Vocals
Sco - Synth
Devallia - Keyboard
Curse - Drums

Website /



Music: 7.5
Sound: 9
Extras: -
Total: 8.25 / 10


Comments powered by CComment