RoD header


Title: Live Evil
Artist: Black Sabbath
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 9th April 2010
Label: Sanctuary

Album Review

I just realized that when this record initially came out in its original edition I was just a little baby and far away from being able to deliberately listen to any kind of music. Lots of time has passed since. And now in 2010 this record was being re-released in a series of other re-mastered BLACK SABBATH discs with additional second disc and bonus tracks. The concert with Ronnie James Dio on vocals on board starts with the disconcerting instrumental introduction 'E5150', setting up just the right mood for the band to come on stage now and begin their show properly with the thundering drums and riffs of opening 'Neon Knights,' carrying some kind of a heroic spirit within. Butler's little bass solo now announces the second tune 'N.I.B' that with its insisting riff melodies not just makes you want to enjoy yourselves firmly, it orders you to do so. Calmer melodies introduce 'Children Of The Sea' and set up a rather melancholic mood but the track gets a distinctive harder edge with the riffs soon to kick in, underscoring the anthemic character of the song well.

With the next one 'Voodoo' we're going to take a trip to the black circles of Africa and all the mysteries of this religion unfold to us: Actually they' don't but the track is a pretty decent rock adventure nonetheless. The epic 'Black Sabbath' starts a storm of excitement in the crowd and they've got every reason to be, as the over 8 minutes long tune goes through magnificently executed figures with a progressive tinge. Same thing with the closing ceremony of the first disc 'Iron Man'! The second disc opens up with the title track of the eponymous album 'Mob Rules' which gives you the perfect excuse for unbridled air guitar playing in your room right now. Of course you can just bang your head too, or maybe do both at a time. A melodious riff rings the opening bells for the grooving 'Children of the Grave', founding on a galloping rhythm before the airy, spherical 'Fluff' wraps up the second disc. The age of the material is audible but the re-mastering engineers did a splendid job in getting the best bits out of what they had and one can only advice fans to get it for their collection. They'll surely be surprised.


01. E5150 - 2:22
02. Neon Knights - 4:37
03. N.I.B. - 5:14
04. Children Of The Sea - 6:13
05. Voodoo - 5:52
06. Black Sabbath - 8:39
07. War Pigs - 9:20
08. Iron Man - 7:37

01. The Mob Rules - 4:13
02. Heaven And Hell - 12:10
03. The Sign Of The Southern Cross/Heaven And Hell (continued) - 7:16
04. Paranoid - 3:47
05. Children Of The Grave - 5:50
06. Fluff - 1:00


Ronnie James Dio - Vocals
Tony Iommi - Guitar
Geezer Butler - Bass Guitar
Vinny Appice - Drums
Geoff Nicholls - Keyboards

Website /

Cover Picture


Music: 8
Sound: 7
Extras: -
Total: 7.5 / 10


Comments powered by CComment