RoD header


carachangren wherethecorpsessinkforever
Artist: Carach Angren
Title: Where The Corpses Sink Forever
Genre: Symphonic Black Metal
Release Date: 18th May 2012
Label: Season Of Mist

Album Review

The Dutch band CARACH ANGREN was formed in 2004 and so far has released three studio records, like their debut ‘Lammendam’ (2008), ‘Death Came Through A Phantom Ship’ and the most recent one, ‘Where The Corpses Sink Forever’. Their style incorporates theatrical elements and may also be entitled Horror Black Metal, although sticking strictly to categories may not fit in their case. With ‘Where The Corpses Sink Forever’, CARACH ANGREN have created a really outstanding and unique album. The lyric concept revolves around death and war, each song focuses on a different aspect and yet it all adds up to a self-contained outline. This is further underlined by the musical style of the album: fast and disharmonic riffs mingle with symphonic, melodic elements to form a very enigmatic, profound and outstanding mixture. With CARACH ANGREN, it is obviously not about producing an entertaining and flat work, but rather a well-thought of and balanced piece of art.

Especially the use of stringed and other orchestral instruments adds a very dark and mysterious atmosphere to the music, which can be at times very stirring and disturbing. The overall tempo varies from fast to sagging, doom-like changes can occur from one sequence to the next, which adds to great tension and variety. Ranging from harsh, rasping to whispered and relatively soft, the vocals also provide ambiguity and relief. It is probably hard to pin-point certain songs as outstanding, since they form an entity and are tightly wrapped up in a logical track list. “Where The Corpses Sink Forever” may not be fully understandable after the first listen, but the patient listener will get rewarded with unfolding and continuously developing details which form an overwhelming and formidable impression. Strongly recommended!


01. An Ominous Recording
02. Lingering in an Imprint Haunting
03. Bitte tötet mich
04. The Funerary Dirge of a Violinist
05. Sir John
06. Spectral Infantry Battalions
07. General Nightmare
08. Little Hector what Have You Done?
09. These Fields Are Lurking (Seven Pair of Demon Eyes)


Seregor - Vocals, Guitars
Ardek - Keyboards, Orchestra
Namtar – Drums

Website / /

Cover Picture

carachangren wherethecorpsessinkforever


Music: 9
Sound: 9
Extras: -
Total: 9 / 10

Comments powered by CComment