RoD header


chrysalide dontbescared
Artist: Chrysalide
Title: Don't Be Scared, It's About Life
Genre: Industrial
Release Date: 26th October 2012
Label: Dependent Records / Artoffact

Album Review

When you look up the CHRYSALIDE Facebook page on the internet it says “audio trauma” in an additional title. What you cannot know of you didn't listen to their stuff previously is that this coins their stuff pretty damn well. 'Don't Be Scared, It's About Life' has already created a fuzz all over independent electronic media. Kinda reminds you of the ATARI TEENAGE RIOT approach to things. You pick elements of electronic music that have a natural harshness hard-coded into their DNA already, emphasize those and in doing so, pushing them to the extreme. This leads to pretty much unpredictable results. You never quite knew what's lurking around the next corner. The album is at its most intriguing when fusing seemingly contradictory elements. It's when the agony of a digital soul meets the beauty of a piano, or just a gradually thickening texture for that matter.

You don't actually get why this is a working approach in the first place, but it's growing on you by the second. The whole thing is scattered on 22 tracks which are mostly comparatively short. ON the other hand you couldn't stand some of the force that's coming at you for any longer than it lasts, and the short duration caters for greater intensity at that. SO if you've gotten through to the very last bit of music you'll be in for a traumatized vision of 'Another Brick In The Wall' by PINK FLOYD. That's all folks..and may you find some rest after this. You're going to need it for the next strike.


01. Who's Still Alive - 2:08
02. Traders Must Die - 4:26
03. Cybernetic Babies - 3:08
04. I Do Not Divert Eyes - 3:46
05. Anger Is A Show - 3:36
06. Fucking Doubt - 2:54
07. Let The Bombs Fall - 2:08
08. Let's Talk About This During Dinner - 4:11
09. Lizzie and The Charming Prince - 3:08
10. Not My World - 3:45
11. Give Me Something Stronger - 5:38
12. The Last Candle - 1:16
13. Gemini - 4:02
14. They Won't Get Us - 2:00
15. 2010 - 4:22
16. Lovetape - 3:40
17. Rest In Silence My Friend - 2:20
18. All Guilty - 3:30
19. Freak Out - 3:32
20. Lizzie In Toxicland - 5:04
21. We Are Food For Worms - 4:40
22. Another Brick In The Wall (Traumanoize) - 5:07




Cover Picture

chrysalide dontbescared


Music: 8
Sound: 8
Extras: -
Total: 8 / 10

Comments powered by CComment