RoD header


insomnium shadowsofthedyingsun
Artist: Insomnium
Title: Shadows of the Dying Sun
Genre: Melodic Death Metal
Release Date: 25th April 2014
Label: Century Media Records

Album Review

INSOMNIUM is a Finnish Melodic Death Metal band, formed in 1997. The band is currently signed to Century Media Records and has thus far released six studio records, the latest one being entitled ‘Shadows of the Dying Sun’. On their new output, INSOMNIUM continue their very own blending of harsh riffs alongside melancholic and dark melodies. The album opens up with two very strong songs, ‘The Primeval Dark’ and ‘While We Sleep’ which also work very well during their live performances. It becomes clear that ‘Shadows of the Dying Sun’ proves to be a conclusive continuation of their recent works ‘One For Sorrow’ (2011) and ‘Across The Dark’ (2009).

INSOMNIUM include slower and nevertheless energetic songs like ‘Revelation’ and ‘Lose To Night’, the latter including a very remarkable hook line and chorus. Moreover, faster titles like ‘Black Heart Rebellion’ and ‘Collapsing Words’ can be heard, which also underline the band’s musical and instrumental skills. ‘Ephemeral’ appears to be very straight-forward and almost creates a positive atmosphere, whereas the final title track ‘Shadows of the Dying Sun’ is rather epic and moody. The album in itself is very conclusive and includes variation between the songs and also concerning the song structures. Fans of quality Melodic Death Metal will surely enjoy this album, despite its not offering a radical departure from previous releases.


01. The Primeval Dark (03:17)
02. While We Sleep (06:21)
03. Revelation (05:16)
04. Black Heart Rebellion (07:03)
05. Lose To Night (04:59)
06. Collapsing Words (04:38)
07. The River (07:58)
08. Ephemeral (Album Version) (04:02)
09. The Promethean Song (06:41)
10. Shadows Of The Dying Sun (06:33)


Niilo Sevänen – Vocals, Bass
Ville Friman – Guitars, Vocals
Markus Vanhala – Guitars
Markus Hirvonen – Drums

Website /

Cover Picture

insomnium shadowsofthedyingsun


Music: 7
Sound: 8
Extras: -
Total: 7.5 /10

Comments powered by CComment