RoD header


Title: The Young and Defenceless
Artist: Funeral For A Friend
Genre: Rock/Post-Hardcore/Emo/Screamo
Release Date: 3rd December 2010
Label: Roadrunner Records

EP Review

After four studio albums, many singles, DVD and a compilation album, the Welsh band FUNERAL FOR A FRIEND created ‘The Young and Defenceless’ EP – it was available to fans who “pledged” via the, which is a website made for musicians and fans to actively work together to raise some money for charities, hence one of the EP packages is an acoustic performance recorded in their fan’s home (!). The EP reviewed here is the standard issue, now released to a wider audience (the other from the three on offer is a signed edition).

The opening song ‘Serpents In Solitude’ saw a video release early this month, portraying the band members as if they were puppets controlled by cloaked figures to play their song, which goes well to underline the angst, urgency and defiance of the song. As the EP goes on the changes in line-up, taking on Richard Boucher as a new bass player and Gavin Burrough switching from bass to guitar, seem to have helped their sound. The guitars are thicker, clearer and give a harder impression; the overall sound has an even more defined quality to it, but apart from that there are really no surprises. Having said that, it is a great single which offers something good to the fans to fill the time waiting to hear what their upcoming album is going to be like.


1. Serpents In Solitude - 3:26
2. Vultures - 3:41
3. Damned If You Do, Dead If You Don't - 3:29
4. Sixteen - 2:52


Matthew Davies - Lead Vocals
Gavin Burrough - Guitar, Backing Vocals
Ryan Richards - Drums, Aggression Vocals
Kris Coombs-Roberts - Guitar, Backing Vocals (Previously Bass)
Richard Boucher - Bass

Websites /

Cover Picture


Music: 7
Sound: 8
Extras: -
Total: 7.5 / 10


Comments powered by CComment