RoD header


stratovarius underflamingwinterskies
Artist: Stratovarius
Title: Under Flaming Winter Skies - Live in Tampere (CD and DVD)
Genre: Power Metal / Symphonic Metal
Release Date: 29th June 2012
Label: earMUSIC/Edel

Album Review

The Finnish STRATOVARIUS have returned; this time with the release of a live CD/DVD which at the same time is a farewell to the drummer Jörg Michael, as this was one of the last times he sat behind the drums. Some will see this release as sentimental while others, more cynical, will not fail to underline the capitalization on the behalf of the band for promotional reasons, and one of the crucial and certain points here is that the departure will bring some changes to the sound of the band and the release is like a mark to judge the before and after.

And so far, so good. ‘Live In Tampere’ is a brilliant synopsis of the major “hits” of STRATOVARIUS throughout their rich career. And of course the necessary solos are there as well so that the listeners/ viewers have a glimpse of the band’s musicianship. When it comes to releases like this, where the songs are very well known by the band’s fans, the focus lays mainly on the quality of the sound production. On that front, the band, though it managed to stabilize the acoustic levels between their sound and the reactions of the audience, put in a little bit more of the “raw” elements. I guess in order to offer a more “authentic” feeling of the concert - and/ or to reduce the cost of the recording. That doesn’t mean of course that here we’re dealing with the quality of a bootleg. Au contraire. But a cleaner recording might have boosted songs like ‘Burn’.

Despite this minor criticism, the truth is that STRATOVARIUS have delivered a splendid live album, where tons of Power Metal is thrown left and right, and towards a really warm audience. I suspect it was a great gig and if you’re a fan you’re going to love being transported there at least in spirit of listening.

Tracklist CDs

01. Under Flaming Skies
02. I Walk To My Own Song
03. Speed Of Light
04. Kiss Of Judas
05. Deep Unknown
06. Guitar Solo
07. Eagleheart
08. Paradise
09. Visions
10. Bass Solo
11. Coming Home

01. Legions Of The Twilight
02. Darkest Hours
03. Burn
04. Behind Blue Eyes
05. Winter Skies
06. Keyboard Solo
07. Black Diamond
08. Father Time
09. Hunting High And Low

Tracklist DVD / Blu-Ray

01. Intro
02. Under Flaming Skies
03. I Walk To My Own Song
04. Speed Of Light
05. Kiss Of Judas
06. Deep Unknown
07. Guitar Solo
08. Eagleheart
09. Paradise
10. Visions
11. Bass Solo
12. Coming Home
13. Legions Of The Twillight
14. Darkest Hours
15. Jörg Speech
16. Burn
17. Behind Blue Eyes
18. Winter Skies
19. Keyboard Solo
20. Black Diamond
21. Father Time
22. Hunting High And Low

DOCUMENTARY: Rewinding from the past to 2012
5.1 mix of “Elysium” (taken from the album “Elysium”) - only on Blu-Ray

Each of the formats (2CD / DVD / Blu-Ray) includes a different booklet - the same cover and interview with Jörg but different rare pictures.


Timo Kotipelto – Vocals
Matias Kupiainen – Guitars
Jens Johansson – Keyboards
Lauri Porra – Bass
Rolf Pilve – Drums (This release is the last one with Jörg Michael sitting behind the drums)

Websites /

Cover Picture

stratovarius underflamingwinterskies


Music: 9
Sound: 8
Total: 8.5 / 10

Comments powered by CComment