RoD header


stratovarius unbreakable
Artist: Stratovarius
Title: Unbreakable EP
Genre: Power Metal / Symphonic Metal
Release Date: 25th January 2013
Label: earMUSIC/Edel

EP Review

Is there a metal head out there that hasn’t heard of STRATOVARIUS? I doubt it. One year short of 30 years on the scene they have 13 albums to their name and the upcoming ‘Nemesis’ is on its way next week. ‘Unbreakable’ was a single out last month. It contains “bait” in its opening song and is the point of all rounded interest. The rest of the songs here are newly polished songs from previous albums, with very little difference to their originals they’re more of an interest to new fans or occasional fans who may wish to catch up – quickly that is; single after all is better to pamper for short attention span rather than taking out from the shelves ‘Under Flaming Winter Skies - Live in Tampere’ released last summer with this purpose in mind. For die-hards this can only be a reminder of sorts, a bridge between past and present but I doubt that they rushed to the stores to get it and if: it was only to satisfy the OCD monster within them to have absolutely everything the band has ever created in their collection.

‘Unbreakable’ indeed is a song that piques curiosity for the new album, which features their new drummer, Rolf Pilve, and is sure to provide many discussions between fans whether he does or does not measure up to his predecessors. My hunch is that his skills are absorbed into the band very well. The ‘Unbreakable’ features a contrasting dialogue between the keyboards that seem to dive into another trend entirely and provides an interesting marriage to the traditional Power Metal. Still, the old songs do provide a great opportunity to enjoy what STRATOVARIUS had done, personally for me the greatest enjoyment along that line was ‘Why Are We Here’ with its memorable hook that refuses to be shaken out even after the single stops playing.


01. Unbreakable
02. Falling Star  (“Polaris”)
03. The Game Never Ends (“Elysium”)
04. Freedom (“Infinite”)
05. Why Are We Here (“Intermission”)


Timo Kotipelto – Vocals
Matias Kupiainen – Guitars
Jens Johansson – Keyboards
Lauri Porra – Bass
Rolf Pilve – Drums

Websites /

Cover Picture

stratovarius unbreakable


Music: 8
Sound: 9
Total: 8.5 / 10

Comments powered by CComment