Search Event Tickets


Buy Music & Merch!

Nuclear Blast Online Shop


Event Calendar

October 2021
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Latest Events

Sun Oct 17 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: TIM VANTOL
Sat Nov 20 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: DE/VISION

Latest News

davegahan soulsavers imposterA unique album on which DAVE GAHAN & SOULSAVERS breathed new life into carefully selected tracks with personal meaning! The first song ‘Metal Heart’ will be available from October 8, 2021

The multi-platinum artist and songwriter DAVE GAHAN, who has been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, will release a new album on November 12, 2021 together with his long-time musical partner SOULSAVERS (Rich Machin). Under the title ‘Imposter’, DAVE GAHAN takes the listeners on a very personal journey. The twelve carefully selected and reinterpreted songs span a variety of genres and time periods, including pieces by NEIL YOUNG, BOB DYLAN, PJ HARVEY, CHARLIE CHAPLIN, CAT POWER and MARK LANEGAN, to name a few.

However, it would be a mistake to call ‘Imposter’ a cover album. Rather, it is a representation of songs that DAVE GAHAN & SOULSAVERS have heard, studied, absorbed and brought to new life. All the songs have a deep meaning for DAVE, which makes ‘Imposter’ a reflection of his life - a story told by others, but with its own distinctive voice. “When I hear other people’s voices and songs - and especially the way they sing them and interpret the words - I feel at home,” admits DAVE GAHAN. “I identify with it. That comforts me more than anything else. There isn’t a single artist on the record who hasn’t touched me.” And he adds: “I know that we have created something special, and I hope that other people will feel that and that it will take them on a little journey - especially people who love music and have been for years.”

The first taste of ‘Imposter’ will be ‘Metal Heart’. The version, written by Chan Marshall (Cat Power) and first published in 1998, will be released in a new guise by DAVE & SOULSAVERS on October 8.

In contrast to the previous albums by DAVE GAHAN & SOULSAVERS transatlantic collaboration, in which the duo recorded separately and sent parts back and forth, the recordings for ‘Imposter’ were made live in November 2019 at the famous Shangri-La Recordings Studio in Malibu, California as ten-piece band. This not only enabled a more intimate collaboration, but also allowed DAVE & SOULSAVERS to really soak up the atmosphere and give the tracks a different spirit. In an interview with podcaster and media personality Chris Black, DAVE said: “It was the first time we were all in one place. It was also kind of a moment of happiness... Arriving at the Shangri-La every day was magical. We drank a coffee, went in and worked.”

‘Imposter’, re-produced by Rich Machin and DAVE GAHAN, is the collaborators’ third album following their critically acclaimed 2015 album ‘Angels & Ghosts’ and their 2012 debut ‘The Light the Dead See’. The album will be released worldwide on November 12, 2021 via Columbia Records in both digital and physical formats.

01. The Dark End of the Street
02. Strange Religion
03. Lilac Wine
04. I Held My Baby Last Night
05. A Man Needs a Maid
06. Metal Heart
07. Shut Me Down
08. Where My Love Lies Asleep
09. Smile
10. The Desperate Kingdom of Love
11. Not Dark Yet
12. Always On My Mind

More information and updates about the album at and

Source: Press Release

Related Articles

You are here: Home News Releases DAVE GAHAN & SOULSAVERS - New album “Imposter” on 12th November 2021 via Sony Music