RoD header

2ndface utopium2ND FACE unveil the first dark song ‘formula Extinction’, which is taken from their forthcoming new full-length ‘utOpium’. The massive new album of the German progressive industrial act has been scheduled for release on May 12, 2023.

2ND FACE comment: “The track ‘formula Extinction’ is inspired by humanity’s reckless exploitation of the planet’s resources - a process that will inevitably create a rather dystopian environment for generations to come”, mastermind Vincent Uhlig explains: “The lyrics revolve around a society that is tranquilised by social media and streaming platforms. Everybody is cosily wrapped up in their ‘utOpium’ and unable to elude its lethargic effect.”

01. Momentum
02. formula Extinction
03. Vox Irae
04. Mydriasis
05. life(l)over
06. Underneath the Silence
07. Aether
08. 1 of the Others
09. Public Enemy
10. faith

Hopes were running high for the return of 2ND FACE after their acclaimed debut album ‘Nemesis’ hit the scene with a massive impact in 2017. To cut a long story short, mastermind Vincent Uhlig has far surpassed the already huge expectations with his sophomore full-length ‘utOpium’.

The German sound magician, who has finished his degree at the School of Audio Engineering with honours in the meantime, created a multi-layered masterpiece with the new album that does not just feed pure ear-candy to audiophiles as any headphone-test will confirm, but also thrills with excellent songwriting and lyrical depth.

The sound of ‘utOpium’ is equally transparent and detailed, yet at the same time aggressive and powerful, which perfectly fits the industrial genre that 2ND FACE operate in and push the limits. Uhlig has invested five years of blood, sweat, and tears into this monster of an album. His work displays an obvious respect for the history and tradition of the industrial scene. There are clear hints to the darkness of the Belgian school, but also notes of SKINNY PUPPY, and even a knife tip of avant-garde pioneers TOOL in the sound of 2ND FACE. At the same time, Uhlig steers his own course, which is for example manifesting in his use of an EMS Synthi AKS and PPG-300 modular system inherited from his father - the krautrock pioneer Wolf-Rüdiger Uhlig (MURPHY BLEND, HANUMAN).

Lyrically, ‘utOpium’ takes a deep dive through the human mind and embarks on a philosophical journey to self-awareness. 2ND FACE also hold a subtle mirror to society, which is fragmenting while collectively opting for (social) media self-hypnosis in the face of climate change and war.

2ND FACE were conceived by Vincent Uhlig in the German city of Mainz, capital of the Rhineland-Palatinate, in 2014. Following a string of five demos in the same year, a first self-released single entitled ‘First of His Name’ hit the streets in 2015, which captured the attention of Dependent. The 2017 debut full-length ‘Nemesis’ out on the label was widely regarded as a “newcomer of the year”. The album did not only receive much praise from critics but also sold particularly well, indicating that the fans fully agreed. With the EP ‘Nihilum’ (2018), 2ND FACE confirmed their exceptional talent and status as fast-rising new stars on the industrial sky.

With ‘utOpium’, 2ND FACE achieve another quantum jump in quality and the sound of the album is bound to become a benchmark of the industrial genre for years to come. Put on your headphones, crank up your speakers, and let ‘utOpium’ detonate into your ears!

Album Details
Release date: May 12, 2023
Style: Progressive Industrial
Line-up: Vincent Uhlig (vocals, arrangements, sound design, lyrics), Maxagon (live drums), Martin Sane (live keyboard, vocoder)
Links: /
Produced, recorded, mixed & mastered by Vincent Uhlig
Artwork by Vlad McNeally
Available formats: 36-page artbook with bonus CD ‘dystOpium, Digipack CD

Source: Press Release

Comments powered by CComment