RoD header

katatonia skyvoidofstarsThe day has come to dive into the most beautiful realms of melancholy, as Swedish grand seigneurs of gloom KATATONIA have finally unveiled their Napalm Records debut and new studio album, ‘Sky Void of Stars’. With ‘Sky Void of Stars’, KATATONIA have already enthralled critics and fans worldwide - resulting in extensive streaming and video views as well as various cover stories. On top, the album ranks at #1 on several soundchecks like German Rock Hard and Legacy Magazine.

With a captivating, story driven music video for hypnotizing ‘Opaline’, the entity around founding members Jonas Renkse and Anders Nyström not also emphasizes the release, but also teases their “Twilight Burials EU & UK” tour with SÓLSTAFIR and SOM - kicking off today in Tampere, Finland. The video shows impressions from the band’s latest US tour and prepares fans for a unique live experience to remember. ‘Opaline’ embraces KATATONIA’s intense, genre-bending style, significantly shaping the scene while still staying true to their own musical values.

Daniel Moilanen on ‘Opaline’: “Opaline. A bleak, yet thunderous anthem for our empty sky. A dim gaze upon a time deliberately fleeting like the migratory bird. A final single and a taste of the future?”

Founded in 1991, KATATONIA have continually embraced the dark and the light alike and - living through genre evolutions beyond compare - ripened their own particular form of expression. Carving their way from their nineties’ Gothic-tinged Doom Metal to the ethereal post-metal entity they are today, the band is ready to showcase its brilliance and illuminate the void in the scene with Sky Void of Stars.

KATATONIA on the new album, ‘Sky Void of Stars’: “Our 12th album, ‘Sky Void of Stars’, is a dynamic journey through vibrant darkness. Born out of yearning for what was lost and not found, the very peripheries of the unreachable, but composed and condensed into human form and presented as sounds and words true to the KATATONIA signum. No stars here, just violent rain.”

01. Austerity
02. Colossal Shade
03. Opaline
04. Birds
05. Drab Moon
06. Author
07. Impermanence (feat. Joel Ekelöf)
08. Sclera
09. Atrium
10. No Beacon To Illuminate Our Fall
11. Absconder (Mediabook Bonus Track)

- Ltd. Deluxe Wooden Box (incl. Mediabook + Digipack Atmos Mix BluRay + Crow Pendant + Star Chart Artprint + Pin) – Napalm Records exclusive – SOLD OUT!
- Die Hard Edition 2LP Gatefold Ink Spot / FOREST GREEN (incl. Slipmat, Patch, 12 pages poster) – Napalm Records exclusive – SOLD OUT!
- 2LP Gatefold DARK GREEN – Napalm Records exclusive – SOLD OUT!
- 2LP Gatefold MARBLED TRANSPARENT/DARK GREEN –  OMerch exclusive
- 2LP Gatefold MARBLED CRYSTAL CLEAR/BLACK –  OMerch exclusive
- 2LP Gatefold BLACK
- 1CD Ltd Mediabook (incl. Bonus Track)
- 1CD Jewelcase
- Digital Album
- [2LP Gatefold BLACK]

Twilight Burials UK & Europe Tour with Sólstafir and SOM
20.01.23 FI - Tampere / Tampereen Tullikamari (Pakkahuone & Klubi) -SOLD OUT!
21.01.23 FI - Helsinki / Kulttuuritalo
22.01.23 EE - Tallinn / Helitehas
24.01.23 PL - Warsaw / Klub Stodoła
25.01.23 DE - Berlin / Huxleys Neue Welt
26.01.23 DE - Cologne / Essigfabrik -SOLD OUT!
27.01.23 DE - Stuttgart / LKA Longhorn
28.01.23 CZ - Prague / ROXY Prague
29.01.23 AT - Vienna / Arena Wien
31.01.23 HU - Budapest / Akvárium Klub
01.02.23 DE - Munich / Backstage Werk
02.02.23 CH - Zurich / Komplex 457
03.02.23 IT - Milan / Live Club
04.02.23 FR - Lyon / Ninkasi Kao -SOLD OUT!
06.02.23 ES - Madrid / Kapital
07.02.23 ES - Barcelona / La Salamandra
08.02.23 FR - Toulouse / Le Metronum
10.02.23 GB - London / O2 Forum Kentish Town
11.02.23 GB - Manchester / O2 Ritz Manchester
12.02.23 GB - Bristol / Marble Factory
13.02.23 GB - Glasgow / The Garage
14.02.23 GB - Wolverhampton / KK’s Steel Mill
16.02.23 DE - Frankfurt Am Main / Batschkapp
17.02.23 NL - Haarlem / Patronaat -SOLD OUT!
19.02.23 FR - Paris / Le Trianon
20.02.23 LU - Luxembourg / Rockhal
21.02.23 BE - Antwerp / Muziekcentrum Trix
22.02.23 DE - Hamburg / Gruenspan
23.02.23 DK - Copenhagen / Amager Bio
24.02.23 NO - Oslo / Rockefeller Music Hall
25.02.23 SE - Stockholm / Fryshuset Arenan

Jonas Renkse – Vocals
Anders Nyström – Guitars
Roger Öjersson – Guitars
Niklas Sandin – Bass
Daniel Moilanen – Drums

Source: Press Release

Comments powered by CComment