RoD header


Ha12Theaterfabrik, Munich, Germany
12th November 2011
Hammerfall, Vicious Rumors, Amaranthe, Death Destruction

In this Saturday evening it was time for visiting the Theaterfabrik Munich which was nearly sold-out with approx. 1,500 guests. The reason: HAMMERFALL came once again to Munich after some years of absence.

Death Destruction

DEATH DESTRUCTION is a Swedish Death Metal band. They call themselves “collective group of four master-musicians”. All band members already have experience in the Metal scene, as for example bassist Fredrik Larsson, who joins in also with HAMMERFALL. In August 2011, their debut album ‘Death Destruction’ was released.


Music & Performance
Shortly after I had arrived at 7:30 PM in the Theaterfabrik, the first band DEATH DESTRUCTION already started to play - half an hour earlier than announced. So I left everything behind and climbed up the security fence to reach the photo pit. On the stage, singer Jimmie Strimell, guitarist Henrik Danhage, bassist Fredrik Larsson and Jonas Ekdahl (drums) opened the set with 'Mark My Words'. Unfortunately, the listeners were still smoking outside, others, who were already present, still rather chatted a little bit. Also the sound was not mixed really well and thus all songs sounded anyhow the same. After half an hour, their presentation was already past.

01. Mark My Words
02. Krank It Up
03. Shredding
04. Kill It
05. Fuck Yeah
06. Hellfire

Music: 7
Performance: 7
Sound: 5
Light: 4
Total: 6 / 10



AMARANTHE is a Swedish-Danish Modern Melodic Metal band which was founded in 2008. Their music is a mixture of Death and Power Metal. The band is a side project of guitarist Olof Morck who is otherwise guitarist of DRAGONLAND and DARKAGE. The special thing with AMARANTHE is that there are three singers to be heard in alteration. They also published their debut album which is called 'Amaranthe' this year. In spring, they already were on European tour together with KAMELOT and EVERGREY.


Music & Performance
After only 15 minutes rebuilding break it became crowded on the stage: Jake E (voice), Elize Ryd (voice), Andy Solvestrom (voice), Olof Morck (guitar), Morten Løwe Sørensen (drums) and Johan Andregassen (bass) started their set as second support band on this evening. In the meantime, the hall was nearly completely full and the guests listened to the band with growing interest. What struck immediately was that the sound was much better now. Also the clear voice of singer Elize Ryd was well balanced. For the first time during this evening, positive emotions with the audience occurred and AMARANTHE were bet farewell after half an hour with considerable applause.


01. Leave Everything
02. Enter The Maze
03. 1,000,000 Light-years
04. Rain
05. My Transition
06. Call Out My Name
07. Automatic
08. Hunger

Music: 7
Performance: 7
Sound: 7
Light: 5
Total: 6.7 / 10


Vicious Rumors

The US-American Heavy Metal band VICIOUS RUMORS was founded already in 1979 by Geoff Thorpe. He is also the only constant in the often varying line-up. They also released a new album with the title 'Razorback Killers' this year. Indeed it is despite of many singer's changes and with it linked difficulties already their tenth studio album.


Music & Performance
Then after another very short rebuilding break, the only non-Swedes in this evening, VICIOUS RUMORS, appeared on the stage. Actually, the band RIOT was supposed to be the third band, but they had cancelled for logistic reasons and therefore VICIOUS RUMORS got the chance to finish now the complete tour with HAMMERFALL. VICIOUS RUMORS consists currently of singer Brian Allen (whose resemblance to the Bavarian king Ludwig II might have struck to every visitor there), Geoff Thorpe (E-guitar), Stephen Goodwin (E-bass), drummer Larry Howe and, instead of Kiyoshi Morgan, the former guitarist Thaen Rasmussen. The audience liked the show of VICIOUS RUMORS very much. Brian Allen also insisted on a round crowd surfing. Their appearance offered a diverse mixture of older songs as for example 'Digital Dictator' and also quite new songs as for example 'Murderball'. After 45 minutes, the band said goodbye under blustering applause and cleared the stage for the headliner of this evening.


01. Digital Dictator
02. Minute To Kill
03. Murderball
04. Lady
05. Abandoned
06. Hellrazor
07. Let The Garden Burn
08. Don‘t Wait For Me
09. Soldiers Outro

Music: 8
Performance: 8
Sound: 8
Light: 6
Total: 7.7 / 10



HAMMERFALL is a Swedish Heavy Metal band which was founded in 1993 by guitarist Oscar Dronjak. The band name is derived from a text line of the song 'Lucifer's Hammer‘ of the band WARLORD, saying in it “The hammer will fall on you!” In 1997, the band was newcomer of the year in the Metal scene. Their album 'Crimson Thunder‘ appeared in 2002 and was distinguished with a golden record. And also HAMMERFALL released this year a new album under the name 'Infected'.


Music & Performance
Finally around shortly after 10:00 PM, it was time and the band for which everybody waited in this evening eagerly, HAMMERFALL, appeared on stage. The appearance of singer Joacim Cans, guitarist Oscar Dronjak, guitarist Pontus Nordgren, bassist Fredrik Larsson and drummer Anders Johansson started extremely theatrically. During 'Patient Zero‘, the activity recognized on the stage, was only shadow-like and it ruled (how so often in this evening) red light what was not quite nicely for the present photographers. Musically, they reached during their 90 minutes appearance a climax after the other what might also have been due to the fact that they only offered five new songs and otherwise only classics within the set. The audience raved, danced and joined in the singing wherever possible.


The mood could not have been better. HAMMERFALL offered an extremely harmonious show on stage, even if one as a fan could worry sometimes about both guitarists, because when both were standing on the built up platforms, their heads were nearly touching the spot lights on the ceiling. Also singer Joacim delivered a perfect show and his voice was convincing very well. The sound was also very good, even if a little bit too loud. Finally after three additions and euphoric applause, the evening came to an end.


01. Patient Zero
02. Heeding The Call
03. Any Means Necessary
04. B.Y.H
05. Blood Bound
06. Let‘s Get It On
07. Last Man Standing
08. Renegade
09. Always Will Be
10. Dia De Los Muertos
11. Riders Of The Storm
12. Steel Meets Steel
13. Legacy Of Kings
14. Let The Hammer Fall
15. The Dragon Lies Bleeding
16. The Templar Flame
17. Glory To The Brave
18. One More Time
19. Hearts On Fire

Music: 9
Performance: 8
Sound: 8
Light: 6
Total: 8 / 10


This evening had succeeded very much and the band probably met, maybe except the first band, completely the taste of the listeners who might remember this evening for a long while.

All pictures by Erika Knepper (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.,

Comments powered by CComment