RoD header


masterplan novuminitium
Artist: Masterplan
Title: Novum Initium
Genre: Power Metal
Release Date: 14th June 2013
Label: AFM Records

Album Review

3 years after 'Time To Be King', MASTERPLAN are back with their new album titled 'Novum Initium'. As almost in every MASTERPLAN album we have some line-up changes; behind the microphone it's Rick Altzi (At Vance, Herman Frank) who replaced Jorn Lande, on bass we meet Jari Kainulainen (ex STRATOVARIUS,EVERGREY) who replaced Jan-Sören Eckert and behind the drum kit we have Martin Skaroupka (Cradle of Filth, Inner Fear) who took the place of the big Mike Terran. About the music of the album now 'Novum Initium' recalling the best heard from the self-titled debut, 2005’s ‘Aeronautics’, and their previous album 2010 ‘Time to Be King’ but with a heavier edge. Altzi's voice is very suitable for the band's music and makes us forget Jorn Lande.

Grapow's work on guitars is again is for seminar, the new drummer Martin Skaroupka is very good and he replaces successfully Mike Terana and the keyboards adding great atmosphere on the tracks. In my opinion the best tracks of the album are ‘Keep Your Dream Alive’, ‘Betrayal’, ‘Earth Going Down’, ‘Black Night of Magic’ and the 11 minute title track. Despite major line-up changes, MASTERPLAN continues to create high quality melodic power metal. Let's hope that this line-up will lust and there won’t be major changes that will beset once again the band.


01. Per Aspera Ad Astra
02. The Game
03. Keep Your Dream Alive
04. Black Night Of Magic
05. Betrayal
06. No Escape
07. Pray On My Soul
08. Earth Is Going Down
09. Return From Avalon
10. Through Your Eyes
11. Novum Initium


Rick Altzi - vocals
Roland Grapow - guitar
Jari Kainulainen - bass
Axel Mackenrott - keyboards
Martin Škaroupka - drums


Cover Picture

masterplan novuminitium


Music: 8
Sound: 8
Total: 8 / 10

Comments powered by CComment