RoD header


ministry enjoythequiet
Artist: Ministry
Title: Enjoy The Quiet: Live At Wacken 2012
Genre: Industrial Metal
Release Date: 2nd August 2013
Label: EMI Music

Album Review

Were MINISTRY a synth pop band they started out as back in the 80’s maybe we’d not heard of them, but as they’ve turned to Industrial Metal they have become one of the names synonymous with the genre, that is to say, a legend. Even as such it hasn’t managed to avoid many line-up changes and after a break up in 2008, which Jourgensen branded as final, last year saw a release of ‘Relapse’ and now we have here ‘Enjoy The Quiet: Live At Wacken 2012’. It’s not only a standard buffer between the last and forthcoming album ‘From Beer To Eternity’, which is scheduled to be out on 6th September this year, but as something that the fans will mark as a special recording. Mike Scaccia died last December during a gig with his other band (RIGOR MORTIS) and Jourgensen announced in an interview with Noisy in March that the band would break up again as he could not carry on without his friend, and as such ‘From Beer To Eternity’ is set to be their last studio album and as he worked on it with Scaccia preceding his death, also a tribute.

Though there is a DVD for ‘Enjoy The Quiet: Live At Wacken 2012’ this review only concerns the double CD, which presents two live shows that happened at the same venue: one from last year and the bonus disc is for an earlier one in recorded in 2006. Though as you’d expect its songs span the favourites of not only their latest album but previous ones yet they seem to “sit” together as if they were made for and with each other. And they are fitting to the times, on one had it’d be truly good if this didn’t apply – because then our world would be a better place rather than the shitty one but as the case is, world’s still shitty so MINISTRY is right on hammering out the anger and rage at it all. The first disc seems to possess more sound clarity but that is not to say the bonus disc suffers to spoil the experience, it just feels more raw. Though some of the songs are repeated and offer a chance to nit-pick on differences in performance for the geekiest crews it also offers further reach across their catalogue. I admit that I’ve been enjoying this release so much it’s been difficult to write things down – the best songs are here, the two shows present enough contrast to each other to be out of place... Don’t miss out on it is an understatement.


Enjoy The Quiet - Live At Wacken 2012
01. Ghouldiggers
02. No “W“
03. Rio Grande Blood
04. LiesLiesLies
07. 99 Percenters
08. Life Is Good
09. Waiting
10. Relapse
11. New World Order (N.W.O.)
12. Just One Fix
13. Thieves 

Bonus Disc Live at Wacken 2006
01. Fear Is Big Business
02. Señor Peligro
03. No W
04. Rio Grande Blood
05. The Great Satan
06. Waiting
07. LiesLiesLies
08. Worthless
09. Wrong
10. New World Order (N.W.O.)
11. Just One Fix
12. Thieves
13. Khyber Pass
14. Psalm 69


Al Jourgensen – vocals, guitars, keyboards
Mike Scaccia – guitars
Tommy Victor – guitars
Tony Campos – bass


Cover Picture

ministry enjoythequiet


Music: 10
Sound: 9
Total: 9.5 / 10

Music: 9.5
Sound: 8
Total: 8.75 / 10

Comments powered by CComment