RoD header


skeletonwitch serpentsunleashed
Artist: Skeletonwitch
Title: Serpents Unleashed
Genre: Black/Death Metal
Release Date: 25th October 2013
Label: Prosthetic Records

Album Review

SKELETONWITCH is an US based Black/ Thrash Metal band, founded in 2003. The band is known for its distinct mixture of Black, Death and Thrash Metal as well as their energetic live performances. So far, five full length records were put out – the latest one, ‘Serpents Unleashed’ following up the highly-acclaimed ‘Forever Abomination’ (2011).

On ‘Serpents Unleashed’, SKELETONWITCH maintain their own and distinct sound, yet, does not live up to the standard of the predecessor. The two first songs come across as straight-forward and without any compromises, with an overall fast tempo. ‘I Am Of Death (Hell Has Arrived)’ convinces with a lot of unusual tempo changes and an almost catchy chorus. The following ‘From A Cloudless Sky’ is dominated by evil and harsh vocals, which are also a characteristic for the typical sound of SKELETONWITCH. ‘Burned From Bone’ is among the fastest tracks on ‘Serpents Unleashed’, whereas ‘Unending, Everliving’ starts off in a calm way and has a unusual song structure.

In contrast, ‘Blade On The Flesh, Blood On My Hands’ appears to be a very grooving track with remarkable hook lines. ‘This Evil Embrace’ sounds rather chaotic and fast, while ‘Unwept’ is slightly faster and contains almost epic, solemn melodies. ‘Born Of The Light That Does Not Shine’ seems to be influenced by Technical Death Metal, the last track ‘More Cruel Than Weak’ is with four minutes the longest title on ‘Serpents Unleashed’ and has a dense, unusual intro. With this, a solid record with no lowlights ends – although the song quality on ‘Forever Abomination’ is higher, ‘Serpents Unleashed’ is a solid record that also scores with its heavy and strong production.


01. Serpents Unleashed
02. Beneath Dead Leaves
03. I Am Of Death (Hell Has Arrived)
04. From a Cloudless Sky
05. Burned From Bone
06. Unending, Everliving
07. Blade On The Flesh, Blood On My Hands
08. This Evil Embrace
09. Unwept
10. Born of the Light That Does Not Shine
11. More Cruel Than Weak


Chance Garnette - Vocals
Nate "N8 Feet Under" Garnette - Guitar
Scott "Scunty D" Hedrick - Guitar
Evan "Loosh" Linger - Bass
Dustin Boltjes - Drums

Website /

Cover Picture

skeletonwitch serpentsunleashed


Music: 7
Sound: 9
Extras: -
Total: 8 / 10

Comments powered by CComment