RoD header


darktranquillity construct
Artist: Dark Tranquillity
Title: Construct
Genre: Melodic Death Metal
Release Date: 24th May 13
Label: Century Media Records

Album Review

DARK TRANQUILLITY delivers more melodic death metal anthems from the legendary alleys of Gothenburg. ‘Construct’ however, is a change in pace for the Swedish band, a totally unique direction in comparison to their popular predecessors like ‘We Are The Void’. Despite that, this doesn’t affect the brilliance of their memorable melodies tinged with melancholia, the structure of songs are entertaining and keep you listening from start to finish. The shifts in tones of guitar and vocals keep ‘Construct’ as a highly entertaining record; this vast change for DARK TRANQUILLITY is brave but it’s paid off well, it’s perhaps their most standout album thus far. Highlights include the foreboding intro song, ‘For Broken Words’ – a song that definitively sets the sound and scope for the rest of the album. Others include ‘Apathetic’, ‘What You Only Know’ and ‘Endtime Hearts’; these songs exhibit the true potential of the band and their capacity for dynamic melodies. ‘Construct’ rages and pacifies with its interesting duality of styles that does not disappoint.


01. For Broken Words
02. The Science of Noise
03. Uniformity
04. The Silence In Between
05. Apathetic
06. What Only You Know
07. Endtime Hearts
08. State of Trust
09. Weight of The End
10. None Becoming


Mikael Stanne – Vocals
Martin Henriksson – Guitars
Martin Brändström – Electronics
Anders Jivarp – Drums
Niklas Sundin – Guitars


Cover Picture

darktranquillity construct


Music: 7
Sound: 7
Total: 7.5 / 10

Comments powered by CComment