RoD header


Title: Skyforger
Artist: Amorphis
Genre: Metal
Release Date: 29th May 2009
Label: Nuclear Blast

Album Review

Within their native Finland, AMORPHIS are amongst the most successful bands in the Metal genre and for a good ten years their releases go straight for a top 10 chart notation just like their newest and ninth album ‘Skyforger’ peaking at #1of the Finnish album chart.

The new album opens with the track ‘Sampo’ who’s name comes from the Finnish epos Kalevala and is described in the epos as a magical artefact bringing good fortune to its holder. First thing we hear is a light-footed piano solo section building one unity later with the guitar chords following its melodies.  Then the drums kick in and with the arrival of Tomi’s clean chant and subsequently keys the song gets an anthemic character. It also has many progressive elements mingled into its structure which result in various tempo changes or forays into darker metal territory including some fluffy death metal growls. Follow-up track ‘Silver Bride’ is much more of a straight affair and has indeed hit qualities. I suppose that’s why it’s been chosen to be the single. If a band calls one song ‘Majetsic Beast’ there has to be a good reason for that which reveals itself musically right away in the track’s beginnings with deep hard riffs and growls with majestic melodies played over it which have quite an Eastern touch if I may add that.

The title track really is one highlight on the album and believe me if I say that this is not self-evident. It opens with gentle piano and acoustic guitar getting a more powerful touch when harder riffs come in and eventually lead into an energy spewing main part even featuring some double-bass attacks. The best thing, however, still is the saxophone solo about 3 minutes into the song. Absolutely brilliant stuff! To be frank, I’m not one to call a Finnish metal devotee yet I’m the first to admit that AMORPHIS have their standing for a reason and the stuff really stands out of the masses having an excellent songwriting, progressive and traditional metal elements blended in harmony and addictive melodies. With the Ltd. Edition of ‘Skyforger’ presented in a digipak also comes a bonus track, named Godlike Machine’ not being any less good material than the regular track list, so if you happen to come across one of these editions pick them up.


01. Sampo - 6:09
02. Silver Bride - 4:13
03. From The Heaven Of My Heart - 5:20
04. Sky Is Mine - 4:20
05. Majestic Beast - 4:19
06. My Sun - 4:05
07. Highest Star - 4:44
08. Skyforger - 5:16
09. Course Of Fate - 4:16
10. From Earth I Rose - 5:04
11. Godlike Machine (Limited Edition Bonus Track) - 5:18


Tomi Joutsen – Vocals
Esa Holopainen – Guitar
Tomi Koivusaari – Guitar
Niclas Etelävuori – Bass
Santeri Kallio – Keyboards
Jan Rechberger – Drums

Website /

Cover Picture


Music: 8
Sound: 8
Extras: -
Total: 8 / 10


Comments powered by CComment