RoD header


sonataarctica pariahschild
Artist: Sonata Arctica
Title: Pariah's Child
Genre: Power Metal
Release Date: 28th March 2014
Label: Nuclear Blast

Album Review

The band SONATA ARCTICA was formed in 1996 in Kemi, Finland. At this time the band consisted of core members Tony Kakko (vocals & keyboards), Jani Liimatainen (guitar), Marko Paasikoski (guitar), Tommy Portimo (drums) and Pentti Peura (bass) the band formerly known as TRICKY BEANS (talk about a career saving name change) recorded three demos named ‘Friend till the End’, ‘Agre Pamppers’ and ‘PeaceMaker’. The band underwent a line-up change and even changed the band name to TRICKY MEANS (wtf?). The fourth demo called ‘Fullmoon’ got the band a record deal with Spinefarm Records after which the band changed their name again, this time to SONATA ARCTICA (we got a winner here). In 1999 the debut album ‘Ecliptica’ was released and Tony Kakko who played keyboard and sang decided that he wanted to focus solely on his vocal performance his follow-up on the keyboard was Mikko Härkin.

The follow-up to ‘Ecliptica’ named ‘Silence’ was released in 2001. SONATA ARCTICA released seven regular albums and three live records since their formation and they changed their musical approach over the years and became more and more progressive (being a thorn in many fans side). The new record which I am listening to right now is a slight change again, the band has not gave up on progressive metal but the record is more linear than ‘Unia’ or ‘The Day of Grays’ but it is not forsaking the complex arrangements which are typical for SONATA ARCTICA. In my honest opinion this record is a fine one, not overburdening the listener but nevertheless showing the bands musical skills and bringing the band to another level. Tony Kakko’s voice is a fantastic instrument and a very special one to listen to. The rhythm section, the guitars and even the keys fit fantastic to the song material. This record makes sure that I am going to see the guys live soon.


01. The Wolves Die Young
02. Running Lights
03. Take One Breath
04. Cloud Factory

05. Blood
06. What Did You Do In The War, Dad
07. Half A Marathon Man
08. X Marks The Spot
09. Love
10. Larger Than Life


Tony Kakko – Vocals
Elias Viljanen – Guitar
Pasi Kaupinnen – Bass
Henrik “Henkka” Klingenberg – Keyboard
Tommy Portimo – Drums

Website /

Cover Picture

sonataarctica pariahschild


Music: 8
Sound: 8
Total: 8 / 10

Comments powered by CComment