Search Event Tickets

Eventsuche


Buy Music & Merch!

Nuclear Blast Online Shop

Newsletter

Event Calendar

October 2020
M T W T F S S
28 29 30 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1

Latest Events

Tue Oct 27 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: UNCLE D
Wed Oct 28 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: POSTMODERN JUKEBOX
Wed Oct 28 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: FAR CASPIAN
Thu Oct 29 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: ASSEMBLAGE 23
Fri Oct 30 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: PETER HEPPNER
Sat Oct 31 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: MARIAMA
Sat Nov 07 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: DIORAMA & MINE (FEAT. MARCUS MEYN)
Thu Nov 12 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: CARIBOU
Fri Nov 13 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: PLUSWELT-Stammtisch
Fri Nov 13 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: CARIBOU
Sat Nov 14 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: MINUSHEART
Sat Nov 14 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: DE/VISION
Sun Nov 15 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: PETER HEPPNER
Mon Nov 16 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: PHIL SIEMERS
Fri Nov 20 @ 4:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Festival: Gothic meets Klassik
Sat Nov 21 @ 4:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Festival: Gothic meets Klassik
Sat Nov 21 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: INGRIMM
Tue Nov 24 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: BROKEN WITT REBELS
Tue Nov 24 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: PHIL SIEMERS
Thu Nov 26 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: PASSEPARTOUT
Thu Nov 26 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: OSAN YARAN
Thu Nov 26 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: NASTY CHERRY
Fri Nov 27 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: OSAN YARAN
Fri Nov 27 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: ROTERSAND (online concert)
Fri Nov 27 @ 7:00PM - 11:00PM
(DE) Concert: VNV NATION

Latest News

.

Translate

ennlfrdeitrues
mastodon colddarkplace
Artist: Mastodon
Title: Cold Dark Place
Genre: Progressive Metal / Progressive Rock
Release Date: 22nd September 2017
Label: Reprise Records


Review Flash

The year 2017 sees two MASTODON releases although the second, the 4-track EP ‘Cold Dark Place’, raises discussions on how well it fits into the heavy metal band’s portfolio. ‘Cold Dark Place’ cannot be compared to MASTODON’s latest full-length, the heavily acclaimed ‘Emperor of Sand’, or earlier releases like ‘The Hunter’. ‘Cold Dark Place’ fascinates most of all with different atmospheric layers of progressive rock and the sheer beauty of Brent Hinds’ voice. The opener ‘North Side Star’ feels almost dreamlike with its hypnotizing vocals and the slowly accelerating pace. ‘Blue Walsh’ and ‘Toe to Toes’ are much heavier but even here, southern and progressive rock elements dominate. The EP concludes with the dark title track ‘Cold Dark Place’ that transpires utter desperation and devastation. In this song, Brent Hinds takes us to that place we probably all have been to before and never want to return to, heartbroken and lost.

Conclusion: ‘Cold Dark Place’ is an atmospheric, progressive, guitar-driven EP that further outlines the diversity of MASTODON and reveres Brent Hinds’ enormous talent both as guitarist and singer.

Rating: 8 / 10

You are here: Home Review Flash CD Review: Mastodon - Cold Dark Place