RoD header


ektomorf theacoustik
Artist: Ektomorf
Title: The Acoustic
Genre: Groove Metal / Acoustic / Rock
Release Date: 17th February 2012
Label: AFM Records

Album Review

One of the best Hungarian neo-thrash bands after seven releases has decided to produce an acoustic album. Actually it is semi-acoustic which only means that the aggressive and hard elements are present and that the guitars have been slowed down just a little bit in order to offer the feeling of proximity in terms of sound. It is interesting that EKTOMORF put forth seriously the idea of an acoustic album after a secret gig in Berlin, where the band checked out the response of the audience.

And in this release not only they deal with covers of some much known songs like ‘Folsom Prison Blues’ of Johnny Cash and ‘Simple Man’ of LYNYRD SKYNYRD, they have also included some of their older songs plus five new ones. Though in terms of sound and influences SEPULTURA are present the truth is that their influence remains mainly on a trans-cultural level, of the kind that only art can evoke. And by putting their album in acoustic terms the band offers a necessary variation to their sound. The alienation is a subject that occupies the mind of the band and it finds here one of its best expressions in terms of lyrics and of music. Overall it is an interesting album that is not confined to the narrow limits of the ultra fans of the band.


01. I Know Them
02. I’m In Hate
03. Be Free
04. Redemption
05. Simple Man
06. To Smoulder
07. Folsom Prison Blues
08. Again
09. Through Your Eyes
10. Fate
11. Stigmatized
12. Who Can I Trust


Zoltán Farkas — Vocals/Guitars
Tamás Schrottner — Guitars
Szabolcs Murvai — Bass
Robert Jaksa — Drums

Websites /

Cover Picture

ektomorf theacoustik


Music: 8
Sound: 8
Total: 8 / 10

Comments powered by CComment