RoD header


agnosticfront theamericandreamdied
Artist: Agnostic Front
Title: The American dream died
Genre: Hardcore Punk/ Crossover/ Oi!
Release Date: 3rd April 2015
Label: Nuclear Blast

Album Review

Founded in 1982 by the guitarist Vinni Stigma, the band from New York is one of the oldest of the Hardcore genre that still exists and is still creatively active. Starting as a foursome, the band faced many changes in band members and even a short split up from 1993 to 1998. The band is renowned for its social- critically lyrics, reflecting the struggle to survive in New York City, especially Brooklyn, social criticism, particularly at the US American politics. But these are also controversially discussed and often misunderstood for being right wing orientated and homophobic though the band frequently tried to make its attitude clear to be anti-fascist, against oppression and social injustice. Nevertheless the band attracted also right wing orientated people. Throughout the years there was a musical development from Hardcore to Crossover and then to Metal which causes a loss of a great number of old fans who didn’t like the change. But with all these changes AGNOSTIC FRONT also inspired a lot of other bands. The band released up to now 11 studio albums, 6 live albums and compilations and 9 singles.

If you expect the guys of AGNOSTIC FRONT to suffer from mellowness of age in their third decade of being you are terribly wrong. The ‚old‘ guys are still annoyed and spit their anger out in 16 songs of their 11th studio album. And of course nowadays there are enough topics politically and socially that can make you really furious. There is still social injustice and violence to name and shame. The album starts with an Intro of sirens and vocals of news presenter talking about injustice the weakest people in society have to suffer from and leads directly to the title track summarizing this issue of social Darwinism. As the song title implies ‘Police violence’ is strongly criticizing how the police acts or how American war veterans are treated in their country in ‘Only in America‘. With songs like ‘Enough is enough’, ‘Reasonable doubt’ or ‘No war fuck you’ AGNOSTIC FRONT makes it clear that there are enough reasons to mistrust the politicians and corporates as they are only interested in their own well- being. But nevertheless there is the call for unification and coherence to take a stand as in the song ‚Never walk alone‘ where the ‘Hey‘ invites the audience to sing along. Fast in speed and crisply are almost all songs on the album with fast and powerful drums and shredding guitar sounds. And in the tradition of Punk Rock/ Hardcore Punk the songs are short so that the complete album is only 27 minutes long.

The album is available as standard version, vinyl, download version but you can also only download each song of this album.


01. Intro
02. The American dream died
03. Police violence
04. Only in America
05. Test of time
06. We walk the line
07. Never walk alone
08. Enough is enough
09. I can’t relate
10. Old New York
11. Social justice
12. Reasonable doubt
13. No war fuck you
14. Attack!
15. A wise man
16. Just like yesterday


Roger Miret - vocals
Vinnie Stigma - guitar
Joseph Porfido - guitar
Mike Gallo - bass
Pokey Mo - drums

Website /

Cover Picture

agnosticfront theamericandreamdied


Music: 9
Sound: 9
Total: 9 / 10


Comments powered by CComment