RoD header


Glass House, Pomona, California, USA
18th August 2009
Hatebreed Bashes the Nation with its Comrades: Hatebreed, Chimaira, Winds of Plague, Dying Fetus, and Toxic Holocaust

When it comes to any type of tour, during any time of year there is one thing to do in a time like this, "Loose Your Mind!" This is exactly what the 900 people scattered about the Pomona Glasshouse did on the night of 18th August 2009. A sea of black t-shirts and long hair covered in sweat ran up and down if not all around the Glass House, screaming and shouting throughout half the night. The night itself having had started off fast and heavy, with an intention that wouldn’t fade away anytime soon.

Toxic Holocaust

As the crowd slowly formed, background music buzzed playing numerous tracks as the fans stood waiting for the night of the “Decimation of the Nation Tour” lead off to a toxic start? Britney Spears ‘Toxic’ filled the air as the stage darkened, lights shining on / off a blood shade of red. Until the song had drawn to a close, utter silence cluttered the air as each member of TOXIC HOLOCAUST walked upon the stage. Each of the three musicians grasping a hold of their instruments as the set started off without hesitation. Lasting for a mere 20 minutes total, dishing out ‘Nuke the Cross’, ‘Wild Dogs’ and ‘Endless Armageddon’, thrashing and bashing was all that could be seen.

01. Wild Dogs
02. Gravelord
03. War is Hell
04. 666
05. Nuke the Cross

Dying Fetus

Nothing more or nothing less could come of the almighty Toxic goers TOXIC HOLOCAUST. Next up was a different type of thrashing one consisting of pure death metal aggression by none other than DYING FETUS. Another 3-piece combo that put brutality to the test, the whole room erupted in chaos everywhere you looked. Guitarist John Gallagher enraged the crowd growling and shouting with all his might getting everyone in an adrenaline rush. Nothing but madness came out of the 30 minute set up that DYING FETUS had thrown out doing anything they possibly could to get the crowd up in heat and utter rage. Musically speaking about the instrumental work, DYING FETUS played fast and brutal; nothing but heaviness came out of them in the end rounding off to being intensely brutalizing for all to see.

01. Homicidal Retribution
02. Your Treachery Will Die With You (New Song)
03. Justifiable Homicide
04. Pissing in the Mainstreem
05. Grotesque Impalement
06. Praise the Lord (Opium of the Masses)

Winds of Plague

You shall soon believe the brutalizing fate, when it comes to Los Angeles locals WINDS OF PLAGUE who kept the enraged crowd impacted and ready to mingle. Fans did just that, jumping onto one another shouting along with the lyrics and rocking out to the beat of the music. The musicians themselves were going right along with it. When it was all said and done, several vocalists including their keyboardist jumped in on all the fun. One of the vocalist literally jumping onto the crowd holding the microphone out as the fans held him high in the air, while others jumped in to share the spotlight. What could be better than to have unknown strangers standing on top of you singing their heart and soul into the music they so love. It’s called weird but entertaining fun!

01. Decimate the Weak
02. Origins and Endings
03. New Song 1
04. Angels of Debauchery
05. New Song 2
06. The Impaler


But the weirdness not to mention fun doesn’t end there; the night raged onward wrapping up with the two headliners CHIMAIRA and HATEBREED. After taking their sweet time, CHIMAIRA came on to show the crowd why they had taken their time. It was merely because they had wanted the audience to bear witness to the mayhem within. That’s exactly what had happened, mayhem that kept flowing way into the night, CHIMAIRA just warming it all up with such memorable tunes as ‘Resurrection’ and ‘I Hate Everyone’. As the so-called night was drawing to a closing point, last but not least was of course HATEBREED!

01. The Venom Inside
02. Ressurection
03. Secrets of the Dead
04. The Dehumanizing Process
05. Destroy and Dominate
06. Pure Hatred


The almighty conclusion of the night life, that couldn't bear to turn away such a warm welcoming. Playing for only an hour, HATEBREED threw together a set list containing the old, new, and latest material that would last late into the night. Jasta shouting “This doesn’t even feel like a week day it feels like the weekend”. Adding “You 900 people make it feels like 9,000 people.” Not to mention “At the end of this show you will leave with a smile on your face, this is called ‘Perseverance’”. Jasta had said a handful of catchy remarks that left the audience begging for more. Clearing out the night with some cover tunes taken off their all covers album ‘For the Lions’, Jasta saying “This is a tribute to Slayer, this is ‘Ghosts of War’” along with Black Tide’s cover of ‘Thirsty and Miserable’.

When it was all said and done though, HATEBREED and the rest of the “Decimation of the Nation Tour” line-up had proven a point that night. That this night was a night Pomona‘s Glass House would never forget but cherish to remember walking away with smiles slashed upon their faces.

01. To the Threshold
02. Live For This
03. I Will Be Heard
04. Doomsayer
05. This Is Now
06. Proven
07. Perseverance
08. You're Never Alone
09. Defeatist
10. Destroy Everything
11. Last Breath
12. Before Dishonor
13. Ghosts of War
14. Thirsty and Miserable

Overall Rating
Music: 9
Performance: 9
Sound: 9
Light: 9
Total: 9 / 10

All pictures by Natalie Perez

Comments powered by CComment