RoD header


kimwilde8Westfalenhalle, Dortmund, Germany
3rd March 2011
Kim Wilde, Kellner

Well, there’s a new album and of course this has to be supported by a tour, but in case of KIM WILDE people are not coming for the new songs only; they’re, apart from having a good time, there to reminisce with the big catalogue of hits she has just as well. This time they came to the little part of Dortmund’s Westfalenhalle, where the show was going down.


Within only few years of existence KELLNER has grown from the idea of its founder and a one man performance act to a fully-fledged band, working together like it’s always been like this. The band with ‘The Ocean Life’ and ‘Hey Dude’ already released two acclaimed albums and played various live shows already. With ‘The Road Sessions’ the band releases their newest effort at the end of March.


Music & Performance
I couldn’t connect anything to the name KELLNER before, except it being the German translation of waiter. The band KELLNER announced themselves with their main man saying “Good Evening, we are the support band” and kicking off the show with ‘Rich Men’ and going on with the faster ‘Disappear’ which was catching the audience a little bit more with its vibrancy. Some time into the show, KELLNER himself said it was the job of a support band to prepare the audience for the main act, and in my opinion they did quite a job doing that, especially with the grooving track ‘Last Cannibal’, featuring some audience participation. Here I’m taking the short opportunity to say that the audience responded very well to the music in general. The track was just the right thing to end the set with a band after the ‘Ballad Of A Poor Man’ and the ‘ISong’.

Music: 7
Performance: 7
Sound: 8
Light: 7
Total: 7.2 / 10


Kim Wilde

KIM WILDE, 80s icon with lots of famous hits like ‘Cambodia’ or ‘You came’, was back with a new album called ‘Come Out And Play’, an album that equally has her famous pop appeal and a high amount of intensity. This album was going to be presented live of course the lady is on tour again  and to do that properly Kim brought her band again of her niece Scarlet (backing vocals), her brother and song writer Rick (guitar), drummer Jonathan Atkinson, keyboarder Steve Power, second guitar player Neil Jones as well as bassist Nick Beggs. /


Music & Performance
Given KELLNER’s shorter set we figured that KIM WILDE would be starting much earlier than anticipated and just about 15 minutes later, the show started rolling with the ‘King Of The World’; seeing Kim appearing at the top of the stairs construction that made the stage seem like on an Oscar ceremony or something. That construction would later be used extensively to extend the usable space of the band to move and for posing purposes. Her appearance somewhat set the crowd in motion, even more on the following ‘Chequered Love’. ‘Anyplace, Anywhere, Anytime’ was the first entire crowd pleaser of the evening, and you could even hear some singing along happily while dancing. With the deeply emotional balladry track ‘Lights Down Low’, a section started, stressing tracks from the new album before there was ‘Real Life’ with the intention of bringing back infectious rhythms.


Later on, the focus turned towards the older tunes like the much loved ‘Cambodia’, grabbing everyone by the collar with its insisting melody. A very special part of this evening concert came up with Kim playing a song for her dog ‘Jessica’ on the piano, and immediately afterwards her sitting down with her brother, her niece and some of the other band members to give an acoustic replica of the next few songs which included ‘Love Blond’, the wonderful ‘Thought It Was Goodbye’ or the TASMIN ARCHER cover of ‘Sleeping Satellite’. Sounds terrific if presented acoustically with such vocal power! A section of serenity counterpointed with one of roaring rock and fun for everyone. The hit to bring the main part of the show to an end was ‘You Came’ and it met with sheer excitement.


There was no thinking now of leaving, but chanting for more and that which came first after returning to the stage was a special rendition of ALPHAVILLE’s ‘Forever Young’ and when asked the people were just too willing to sing parts of the lyrics. The icing on the cake was, however, delivered with the world hit ‘Kids In America’ to top off the show and to leave happy people all over the place.

01. King Of The World
02. Chequered Love
03. Hey You
04. Anyplace, Anywhere, Anytime
05. Words Fell Down
06. Lights Down Low
07. Real Life
08. Suicide
09. Cambodia
10. Never Trust A Stranger
11. View From A Bridge
---acoustic part---
12. Jessica
13. Love Blonde
14. Thought It Was Goodbye
15. Sleeping Satellite
16. Together We Belong
---acoustic part end---
17. My Wish Is Your Command
18. The Second Time
19. Paranoia
20. You Came
21. Forever Young
22. Get Out
23. You Keep Me Hanging On
24. Kids In America

Music: 8
Performance: 8
Sound: 9
Light: 8
Total: 8.2 / 10


All pictures by Daniela Vorndran ( / / /

Comments powered by CComment