RoD header


rammstein madeingermany tl
Artist: Rammstein
Title: Made in Germany 1995-2011
Genre: Industrial Metal / Post-Industrial / Groove Metal / NDH
Release Date: 2nd December 2011
Label: Vertigo/Universal

Album Review

“Ballads! I hate ballads. I regard ballads as awkward kitsch. At least no one should accuse me, to listen to ballads. Because I don’t do that. But anyway I know the lyrics of ‘Ohne Dich’ by heart. “Ich werde in die Tannen gehen...“, that’s what I’m hooked on - involuntary. Weh mir, oh weh! (Woe is me!) That’s, what I really resent Rammstein. A nasty, insidious, dangerous band. “
-Peter Richter about Rammstein-

What can I say about this band that was, is and probably will be a headline-catching event? As a fan from the outset, I witnessed all the ups and downs, all the discussions about “political correctness” and suspicions of being National socialists - all that remains that RAMMSTEIN are “masters of mind fucking games”… Brute musical expression paired with likewise lyrics, then again tender and soft tunes with fragile words that my grandmother would be beside herself with joy… Six men that combine their strengths to a so artificial attitude that critics won’t tell what’s wrong or right. It’s pretty hard to appreciate the work of RAMMSTEIN in the very last years… and to bring that to the bottom line, what they’re accounting for me.

‘Made in Germany 1995-2011’ therefore unites great songs within the career of RAMMSTEIN without claiming completeness. All the songs were re-mastered, which is basically relevant for the older ones. As you can see, the lion’s share of 16 songs comes from ‘Mutter’ - probably one of the most impressive releases of RAMMSTEIN’s work in my opinion. With ‘Mein Land’, there’s also a new song on the album that is “up to date” in several ways: in connection with the video there’s a certain caricature of the American lifestyle in awareness of the American Indian situation… Otherwise you can recognize the lyrics in answer to a (excuse my inappropriate diction!) pretty dickhead that tried to entrap the people in Germany with bumper-sticker nonsense… Now, with the situation of right-winged terrorist attacks, I’m pretty sure that the song will be interpreted within that context.

Nevertheless, this retrospective is awesome. Although I’m missing some of my personal favourite songs, the assortment gives a glimpse into RAMMSTEIN’s career. The second CD contains remixes of several bands and artists… quite funny to listen to and a perfect goodie in order to have all these remixes on one CD. Another gimmick is the opportunity to get this release with six different covers - one for each member of the band… To cut a long story short: It’s a must have for fans and a good access for Non-Awares (if they’re still existing!)


01. Engel
02. Links 2 3 4
03. Keine Lust
04. Mein Teil
05. Du Hast
06. Du Riechst So Gut
07. Ich Will
08. Mein Herz Brennt
09. Mutter
10. Pussy
11. Rosenrot
12. Haifisch
13. Amerika
14. Sonne
15. Ohne Dich
16. Mein Land

01. Du riechst so gut '98 - Remix by Faith No More (1998)
02. Du hast - Remix by Jacob Hellner (1997)
03. Stripped - Remix by Johann Edlund - Tiamat (1998)
04. Sonne - Remix by Clawfinger (2001)
05. Links 2 3 4 - Remix by Westbam (2001)
06. Mutter - Remix by Sono (2002)
07. Feuer Frei! - Remix by Junkie XL (2002)
08. Mein Teil - Remix by Pet Shop Boys (2004)
09. Amerika - Remix by Olsen Involtini (2004)
10. Ohne Dich - Remix by Laibach (2005)
11. Keine Lust - Remix by Black Strobe (2005)
12. Benzin - Remix by Meshuggah (2005)
13. Rosenrot - Remix by Northern Lite (2005)
14. Pussy - Remix by Scooter (2010)
15. Rammlied - Remix by Devin Townsend (2010)
16. Ich tu dir weh - Remix by Fukkk Offf (2010)
17. Haifisch - Remix by Hurts (2010)


Till Lindemann – Vocals
Richard Zven Kruspe – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Paul H. Landers – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Oliver “Ollie“ Riedel – Bass
Christoph „Doom“ Schneider – Drums, Percussion
Christian „Flake“ Lorenz – Keyboard

Website / /

Cover Picture

rammstein madeingermany csrammstein madeingermany flrammstein madeingermany or

rammstein madeingermany plrammstein madeingermany rkrammstein madeingermany tl


Music: 9
Sound: 10
Extras: -
Total: 9.5 / 10

Comments powered by CComment