RoD header


rasmus6Zeche, Bochum, Germany
4th December 2012
The Rasmus & The Dirty Youth

When I arrived 15 minutes after the doors had opened, still a very long queue was waiting in front of the venue already promising what would happen later in the packed, sold-out venue: lots of girls would scream for their idols, not playing for the first time at the Zeche Bochum.

The Dirty Youth

THE DIRTY YOUTH formed in 2007 and short time after headed towards the studio to record their first, self-titled EP they spent a good time of the following years promoting with live shows, part of them completely sold-out. Their first album ‘Red Light Fix’ has been released on 10th October 2011. The band already gained some live experience during big festivals, like Download Festival i.e., and during their KORN support tour through Europe in spring 2012. THE DIRTY YOUTH is Danni Monroe (vocals), Matt Bond (guitar, keys), Luke Padfield (guitar), Leon Watkins (bass) and Phil Edwards (drums). / /


Music & Performance
When I first read the support’s name, I thought this band was unknown to me. But when I finally saw them on stage, it hit me and I remembered their support appearances for KORN in Offenbach and Oberhausen earlier this year pretty well. The venue was already for the support absolutely packed and so, the band had an easy game with the audience. It need not need much to get the crowd going. Following were 30 minutes and seven songs of high-speed, punk inflicted rock music. Didn’t the performance in spring draw anyone from the woodwork, the band did perform much more enthusiastic this time. You could i.e. see singer Danni banging her head a lot, even kneeling down while banging so I fear she would hit her head soon on the floor. ‘Requiem of the Drunk’ was the song for a little singing game when anyone was supposed to sing “lalalala… let’s get drunk”.


There was more communication with the audience than in spring, Danni even said that the “drummer is giving away free hugs tonight” later at the merch. Guess it was a nice offer for some girls…

01. Rise Up
02. Bury me next to Elvis
03. Crying out for you
04. Requiem of the Drunk
05. Last Confession
06. Darkest Wedding
07. Fight

Music: 6
Performance: 8
Sound: 7
Light: 6
Total: 6.8 / 10


The Rasmus

The Finnish band was formed in 1994 while the band members were still in upper comprehensive school. Their first three albums ‘Peep’ (1996), ‘Playboys’ (1997), and ‘Hell of a Tester’ (1998) were released under the name RASMUS. Before releasing the next instalment ‘Into’ in 2001 they changed their name to THE RASMUS in order to avoid being confused with a Swedish DJ with the same name. While their previous albums were a success in their home land and in Germany, the fifth album ‘Dead Letters’ from 2003 became their international breakthrough, not only because of the hit single ‘In The Shadows’. Their meanwhile 8th album goes by the name of ‘Black Roses’ and was released in September 2008. 2009 saw the release of a best-of album, followed finally in spring 2012 by a new studio album, ‘The Rasmus’. THE RASMUS is Lauri Ylönen (vocals), Eero Heinonen (bass), Pauli Rantasalmi (guitar) and Aki Hakala (drums). / /


Music & Performance
Believe it or not, but after so many years, the band still attracts many young girls. It seems, that the band members grew up, but their fans constantly change and stick to the same average age level. So, the crowded Zeche was filled with mostly young ladies, screaming for their band. Like during last time when the band played the sold-out Zeche, you could hardly move anymore when the band finally entered the stage, starting off with one of their hits, ‘First day of my Life’, before the first single out off their current album, ‘I’m a Mess’, followed. The stage first looked pretty empty and dismal with just a white backdrop and white clothes around drum podium and amps. But soon, the reason for all that white was revealed when videos and pictures were projected turning the whole stage somehow into a big screen. Really looked great.


After the first few songs with lots of tempo and energy, the mood got a bit more serious with ‘Immortal’ when Lauri even grabbed a guitar and shared vocal duties with bassist Eero. Following next one, ‘Funeral Song’, it was time for a little acoustic part, which became kind of tradition as Lauri said and the band does it every time. So, the four guys too a seat at their bar stools, starting with ‘It’s your Night’ from the current album, seeing all people singing along. When the song faded, something special happened. A girl in the audience (in fact it was two girls but the band only knew of one) celebrated her birthday today and all her friends were wearing little party hats. The band wished her a happy birthday and played the song she had wished for. In fact, they did only the second verse of ‘Jailer’ from the ‘Playboys’ album, because they knew that better, as Lauri said. Afterwards, ‘Every Day’ followed, before ‘Sail Away’ ended the acoustic part. It sounded great when only the audience sang the chorus.


Still very calm, the show went on with ‘Stranger’ from the new album before the crowd was offered many older hits like ‘No Fear’ from the successful ‘Hide from the Sun’ (2005) or ‘In My Life’ and ‘Guilty’. ‘F-F-F-Falling’ from the 2001 release ‘Into’ finally ended the main set. Coming back for some encore songs, the band first presented another song from the new album, ‘Save me once again’, followed by ‘Mysteria’ before finally the first and maybe biggest hit of the band, ‘In the Shadows’, ended a sweat inducing show which left especially the girls happy afterwards.

01. First Day of My Life
02. I'm a Mess
03. Still Standing
04. Time To Burn
05. Ghost of Love
06. Immortal
07. Funeral Song
08. It's Your Night
09. Jailer (as Birthday song)
10. Every Day
11. Sail Away
---End Acoustic---
12. Stranger
13. Livin' in a World Without You
14. No Fear
15. In My Life
16. Guilty
17. F-F-F-Falling
18. Save me once again
19. Mysteria
20. In the Shadows

Music: 8
Performance: 8
Sound: 7
Light: 8
Total: 7.8 / 10


All pictures by Daniela Vorndran ( / / /

Comments powered by CComment