RoD header


introMatrix, Bochum, Germany
6th August 2013
Trivium & Special Guest: We Butter The Bread With Butter

US Heavy Metal band TRIVIUM from Florida was formed in 2000, releasing five studio albums and numerous singles so far. In February 2013, the band started working on their sixth studio album and is currently putting the finishing touches onto it. The album is produced by no one less than DISTURBED front man David Draiman. A release date for the album is not set yet, but was there something new already in Bochum? We’ll see…

We Butter The Bread With Butter

Berlin based band WE BUTTER THE BREAD WITH BUTTER (WBTBWB), who describes its musical style as Hot Deathpop, came to live in 2007 when Marcel Neumann und Tobias Schultka decided to make music together as a duo. They started to work on weird ideas and lyrics. In 2008, the recorded their first album, ‘Das Monster aus dem Schrank’, within only two weeks. Lyrically, the band mostly used old nursery rhymes. 2008 the band was also signed by Redfield Records, releasing the debut album. After the first live shows the duo soon recognized they need more manpower on stage and so they extended the line-up. The second album, ‘Der Tag an dem die Welt unterging’, was out in May 2010. In Summer 2010, founding member Schultka left the band. The third album ‘Goldkinder’ is set to be released on 9th August 2013. WBTBWB is Marcel Neumann (guitar), Maximilian Pauly Saux (bass), Paul Bartzsch (vocals) and Can Özgünsür (drums). /


Music & Performance
When I saw WBTBWB last time, I was not really excited. I just did not get the deal: musically well-crafted Deathcore with heavy electronic elements, but with really senseless lyrics. I know this is the concept, but it does not convince me. And it did not during the Bochum show. Furthermore In Bochum I could not understand a single words of any of the presented songs. The singing styles, if you'd like to call that actual singing, alternates between pig squeals (very accurate description), growls and screams which literally make it impossible to understand anything but a few words, or not a single word, like experienced at the Matrix. When watching the audience, most of the people seemed to have same feelings and looked rather bored, wanting the show to be finally over. There were only very few excited faces. This style of music seemed to appeal especially to younger people. WBTBWB presented, besides many older songs, also a few new ones out of the album ‘Goldkinder’, to be released upcoming Friday. At the end of the show and after thanking TRIVIUM, the quarted left under moderate applause.


01. Intro
02. Pyroman & Astronaut
03. Mein Brille
04. Schlaf Kindlein Schlaf
05. Alles was ich will (new)
06. Das Uhrwerk
07. Superföhn Bananendate
08. 13 Wünsche
09. Ohne Herz (New)
10. World of Warcraft
11. Extrem

Music: 4
Performance: 7
Sound: 7
Light: 5
Total: 5.5 / 10



US Metal band TRIVIUM is heading from Orlando, Florida, and was founded in 2000. Currently, the band has released five studio albums and is signed to Roadrunner Records. The band name “Trivium” comes from Latin (three ways) and names the connection of the three subjects that were taught first: grammar, logic, and rhetoric. Beginning of 2003, the band started recording a first demo album after TRIVIUM has already played live on several occasions. Soon after, the band was signed to Lifeforce Records and released the debut album ‘Ember to Inferno’. The following years saw some line-up changes and releases of carious singles and some albums, the latest one being ‘In Waves’ via Roadrunner Records in 2011. So far, a released date for the sixth album ‘Vengeance Falls’ is set for October; the band is working on it since February 2013. TRIVIUM consists of Matt Heafy (guitar, lead vocals), Corey Beaulieu (guitar, vocals), Paolo Gregoletto (bass, vocals) and Nick Augusto (drums). /


Music & Performance
After the rather disappointing WBTBWB show, anyone was very eager to see TRIVIUM finally. And already before the show started, loud chants for the band to come were audible. In the front row, there were even some Bulgarian fans waving their flag… and later handing it over to the band as a present. The stage was really packed and seemed much too small for the stuff TRIVIUM were packing on it. Some stone-like walls and of course two big columns in form of the “T” for TRIVIUM were built besides the drum podium and nearly hit the ceiling. Looked quite big and impressive! When the intro finally started, people literally freaked out. There were all hands in the air, you could hear loud screaming, see people jumping, head banging and crowd surfing. Within minutes, the temperature in the hall must have increased by at least ten degrees. After the intro, the band entered the stage with a bang and started loud and hi-speed with ‘Throes of Perdition’. Not, that the speed and power would decrease during the following show.


The concert was not sold-out, but the venue was still packed with celebrating people from front to back rows. Fans and band were all really in a very good mood. During the now following 90 minutes show, older songs and tunes from the latest album ‘In Waves’, including of course the album’s title track, were fired onto the crowd. With ‘Strife’ and the first single out of the upcoming album, Brave this Storm’, also two very new songs from the yet unreleased upcoming album were presented, much to the joy of the audience. When you enjoy a show, time flies, and much too soon, also TRIVIUM reached the end of their set with ‘Shogun’. The interlude ‘Capsizing the Sea’ marked the beginning of the two song encore, starting with already mentioned ‘In Waves’ and finally presenting ‘Pull Harder on the Strings of Your Martyr’ from ‘Ascendancy’ album. With the sound of the outro ‘One Winged Angel’, the Californian boys left the stage under thundering applause. Band and fans really gave everything. This show was great music with a technically strong performance. My first TRIVIUM show really convinced me.


01. Intro: Divinity I
02. Throes of Perdition
03. Down from the Sky
04. Becoming the Dragon
05. Brave This Storm (new song)
06. Watch the World Burn
07. Like Light to the Flies
08. Fugue (A Revelation)
09. Strife (new song)
10. Black
11. Dusk Dismantled
12. A Gunshot to the Head of Trepidation
13. Kirisute Gomen (Intro Interlude)
14. Shogun
15. Capsizing the Sea (Interlude)
16. In Waves
17. Pull Harder on the Strings of Your Martyr
18. One Winged Angel (Outro)

Music: 9
Performance: 9
Sound: 8
Light: 8
Total: 8.5 / 10


All pictures by Daniela Vorndran ( / /

Comments powered by CComment