RoD header


trentreznor atticusross gonegirl
Artist: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross
Title: Gone Girl Soundtrack
Genre: Movie Soundtrack/ Ambient
Release Date: 28th November 2014
Label: Smi Col (Sony Music)

Album Review

TRENT REZNOR has put his creative mind together with ATTICUS ROSS to make soundtrack for ‘Gone Girl’. This is not the first time – they have made soundtrack for ‘The Social Network’ and for ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’ and reaped many awards. ‘Gone Girl’ was a film from last year about a woman who (MASSIVE SPOILER ALERT!) tried to frame her husband for her faked murder, a woman who previously framed an ex-boyfriend for rape. After she was robbed at her hide out she finds another ex of hers and convinces him to hide her as she alleges that her husband had been beating her up. After her husband has appeared on TV she falls for him again, she seduces the ex and kills him whilst they’re having sex and then pretends he had kidnapped her and abused her. In other words, it’s a milder American Psycho written for a female.  

Now let’s get to the soundtrack, it runs minimalistic on a smoothing calmness that builds atmosphere gently to inject anxiety or a sense of foreboding, it’s meant to sit with the question “what is behind the facade?” It can to some degree be compared to composers behind Hitchcock’s films - Bernard Herrmann (Psycho, Vertigo, North by Northwest) and Miklos Rozsa (Spellbound) and John Carpenter resembling undertones. The soundtrack can be also contextualised away from the movie, in which case it’s a nice meditative music that can be used exactly for that purpose. Or for projecting your own imagination onto it, someone’s grieving, perhaps a certain picture of post-apocalyptic world – because there’s a certain ‘post’ something tragic feeling to it. It’s not stunning, unforgettable but it’s good enough to enjoy it.


01. What Have We Done To Each Other
02. Sugar Storm
03. Empty Places
04. With Suspicion
05. Just Like You
06. Appearances
07. Clue One
08. Clue Two
09. Background Noise
10. Procedural
11. Something Disposable
12. Like Home
13. Empty Places (Reprise)
14. The Way He Looks At Me
15. Technically Missing
16. Secrets
17. Perpetual
18. Strange Activities
19. Still Gone
20. A Reflection
21. Consummation
22. Sugar Storm (Reprise)
23. What Will We Do
24. At Risk


Trent Reznor
Atticus Ross

Websites / /

Cover Picture

trentreznor atticusross gonegirl


Music: 7
Sound: 8
Total: 7.5 / 10

See also (all categories):

Comments powered by CComment