RoD header


Title: Korn III – Remember Who You Are
Artist: Korn
Genre: Alternative Metal
Release Date: 9th July 2010
Label: Roadrunner Records

Album Review

KORN started in 1993 and released their first album just one year later. Along with the following ‘Life is Peachy’ from 1996, it is a favourite among early KORN fans. The third instalment ‘Follow The Leader’ became their commercial breakthrough and was the beginning of a hard shift to rather easy digestible as many say. But all those who were criticizing the band for becoming too “mainstream” in the past could experience the surprise of their lives since ‘Korn III - Remember Who You Are’ is supposed to be going back to the dark roots.

The instrumental lead-in ‘Uber-time’ does not exactly build up an uplifting mood as you can imagine, rather it is the forlorn waiting room with the slowly opening door to the tearing desperation of first effort ‘Oildale (Leave Me Alone)’. Panicking guitar lines rush down on deeply distorted and down-tuned sections, like sharks rushing towards their prey that in this case is Davis, who utilizes a varied range of vocal styles on the track. A shorter duration however would’ve fitted the song better. Gets lost to much in repetition later! ‘Pop A Pill’ becomes a prime example how to play with different rhythmic figures, shifting from one into another with subtlety yet prominent enough for you to notice it, but not in a negative or abrupt manner. Davis giving the individual close to snapping over one time, and burning with fury the other also doesn’t fall short to impress. The taut rhythmical work introducing ‘Fear Is A Place To Live’ seems like having been played exclusively on toms on first spins, yet with the grinding layers of dirt blown away it’s so much more.

Now welcome to KORN mental house. This is your patient Jonathan Davis and we’re now witnessing one therapy session but be careful, he’s subject to extreme mood swings. One moment he’s singing with a curbed, brooding voice as if he’s keeping things in a cage; then he jumps up screaming suddenly for the feelings are too strong to hold them in on ‘Lead The Parade’. It is frightening how real this sounds and how much it gets to you. ‘The Past’ sets up oppressing atmospheres in its raw environment, insidiously slipping into your soul on viscous groove foundations. You only have to hear ‘Never Around’ once and it’s carrying you instantly with an incredible, mad vocal delivery atop a mad groove. If KORN wanted to revisit old glories, then they achieved just that with the new album! The sound is broken down to the most essential, emphasizing raw, emotional content and that should find acknowledging even with early fans who abandoned the band for their recent, rather mainstream-ish efforts.


01. Uber-time - 1:29
02. Oildale (Leave Me Alone) - 4:43
03. Pop A Pill - 4:00
04. Fear Is A Place To Live - 3:09
05. Move On - 3:48
06. Lead The Parade - 4:25
07. Let The Guilt Go - 3:56
08. The Past - 5:06
09. Never Around - 5:30
10. Are You Ready To Live - 3:59
11. Holding All These Lies - 4:38


Jonathan Davis - Vocals
James Shaffer - Guitar
Reginald Arvizu - Bass
Ray Luzier - Drums

Website /

Cover Picture


Music: 8
Sound: 8
Extras: -
Total: 8 / 10


Comments powered by CComment